Stories are pretty famous on social media – be it Instagram or Facebook. Of course, they must appear for only 24 hours, but they are highly likely to be seen by your friends. That’s because stories appear right on top of your social media feed. All it takes for you to check the latest stories of your friends in one click. It may not be possible to get stats on your Facebook post, but you could find information about people who viewed your Facebook story.
But have you ever seen the “viewed by 1 other” or “1 other people viewed this story” option just below your story page?
Here’s the complete notification “1 other person viewed this story. As it was shared to Public, people you’re not friends with saw it”.
You must be wondering what it’s about and why Facebook does not disclose the names of these other users.
Well, in this post, we are going to discuss what does “Other Viewers” mean and how to see other viewers list on Facebook story.
Sound’s good? Let’s get started.
What Does “Other Viewers” Mean on Facebook Story?
Other Viewers are the people who viewed the story that is not friends with you. If it says “11 other people viewed this story”, it means that 11 non-friend Facebook users viewed your story. This will only show when you’ve changed your story’s privacy setting to public. If anyone other than your Facebook friend views your story, they will be counted as other viewers.
It’s important to note that the other viewer’s option appears only when you share your Facebook story as public. So it will make your story visible to everyone who’s following you on Facebook.
If you don’t want other people to view your story, you must change your privacy settings before posting a story. You can find the Privacy option right at the bottom of the screen.
From there you can change your privacy settings to “friends” or “friends and connections”.
Here you can also find a “Custom” privacy option that allows you to choose who can view your story.
How to See Other Viewers List on Facebook Story
Unfortunately, you cannot see other viewer’s list on the Facebook story. Neither you see the profile name of other people who have seen your story as they are completely anonymous. Facebook has decided to keep this information confidential.
If you are really concerned about other people watching your story, then the simple way to avoid that is by changing your story’s privacy.
However, you can view the list of your friends that viewed your story, along with their profiles. And, these names will be visible even after your story no longer appears.
By default, when you publish your first story on Facebook, the story’s privacy setting will be set to “Friends” only. But if you changed it to “Public”, everyone on Facebook can see your story.
If you have privacy concerns, then set your privacy setting to “Friends” otherwise, you won’t be able to know who they are.