Just like other social networking sites, Pinterest has a chat feature that allows users to interact with other people through messages. However, Pinterest is not as easy as Facebook Messenger or Instagram Direct Messages. It may get a little difficult for people to use it, especially if you are a beginner.
It is possible to hide messages on Pinterest, but you can’t permanently delete them. In other words, the messages are hidden from your inbox and still available on the server, it can’t be deleted.
First, we will discuss how you can delete the conversation with someone on Pinterest or delete all the messages in one click for the older version. Later in this post, I will cover how you can ensure that the person does not read your message.
If you want to delete or hide messages on Pinterest permanently, you will love this guide.
Sound’s good? Let’s get started.
How to Delete Messages on Pinterest
Unfortunately, you cannot delete messages on Pinterest permanently. After the recent update, Pinterest completely removed the delete option. As of now, you are only allowed to hide the entire message conversation from the inbox.
But if you are using an older version of the Pinterest app, you can follow the below steps to delete messages permanently.
Here’s how you can:
- Open the Pinterest app.
- Go to the Messages section.
- Hold the message for 3 seconds.
- Tap on delete and it will be removed.
There you go! The message will be deleted from your account permanently. Now, one important thing you must note here is that messages on Pinterest can only be deleted from your chat history.
They will not be removed from the history of the other Pinterest user you talked to. So, the chat will still be visible to them unless you get them to delete those messages from their account too.
How to Hide Pinterest Messages
Sometimes this happens that you open Pinterest, share a meme or a send message to the wrong person. Or, you share private photos or videos with someone unintentionally. We all have faced this problem.
On Instagram, it is quite easy to unsend the message before the person could read it. All you got to do is hold the message for a few seconds and an option to unsend it will appear at the bottom. That’s it! Unless the person was active on the platform at the time you sent the message, there is no way they can retrieve the deleted message.
However, Pinterest does not have a direct unsend button. You cannot unsend a message that’s sent to a Pinterest account. The good news is you can hide this message from the person, report the conversation, or block that user.
Those were the three things you can do to keep the person from reading the message you did not intend to send. If nothing works, you can talk to the Pinterest support team. This is recommended only when the matter is serious, and it is absolutely important to get the chats erased for security reasons. Pinterest might help delete the conversations.