What Does “Last Seen A Long Time Ago” Mean on Telegram

When Telegram was launched back in 2013, the app merely offered instant messenger services to its users and wasn’t too different from WhatsApp. Therefore, most people preferred WhatsApp, an app they had been using for years, to Telegram.

last seen a long time ago

However, with time, Telegram evolved to offer more value to its users. It launched a channel feature in 2015 where you could add about 200,000 people in a group to broadcast and exchange information among each other. This feature, unlike anything any other social media platform had offered before, gave rise to millions of users coming together to talk about their interests, be it books, comics, cartoons, movies, TV shows, and so on.

In addition to the channel feature, it also launched tools that could delete a conversation from the smartphones of both users. It is due to these interesting features that Telegram has over 500 million users today.

Telegram has another feature that is common to other platforms as well; here, if you want to hide your online status with other Telegram users, you can easily do so from your in-app settings. When you do so, your status will be shown as “Last seen a long time ago.”

Have you been seeing the “Last seen a long time ago” message on someone’s account for a while and are wondering what could be the reason behind it? Luckily for you, we’re going to talk about the same problem today.

Keep reading to explore all possible answers to it.

When Will You See “Last Seen A Long Time Ago” Status on Telegram?

In the introduction, we learned that the “Last seen a long time ago” feature is used by people who want to hide their online status on the app.

last seen a long time ago

But is that the only reason why someone’s status will display that message? Not really. In fact, there are three main reasons why you could be seeing this message on a friend’s profile.

Let’s take a look at these reasons elaborately below.

1. User Might Not Have Used Their Account for a While

The first and most straightforward meaning of a “Last seen a long time ago” message is exactly what it says: perhaps the person you’re trying to reach has stopped using Telegram a while ago. But how long is “a long time ago”? We’ll tell you.

When a Telegram user has been active on the platform within the last three days, their status will display “Last seen recently.” If this person has been active even once within thirty days, their status will read “Last seen within a month.” And whoever hasn’t used the app for more than thirty days will have “Last seen a long time ago” displayed on their status.

So, if this person hasn’t been active on the app for over a month, perhaps they might’ve deleted the app from their smartphone as well. To confirm it, you can reach out to them via another social media platform (if you’re in touch there), or, if you have their number, you can simply call them to ask about it. However, if this person was connected to you only via Telegram, then you have no other choice but to wait for their return.

2. They Could Have Hidden Their Online Status

Be it WhatsApp, Instagram, or any other social media platform, most users prefer to hide their online status nowadays.

There could be any number of reasons behind a person doing so; perhaps their parents/relatives are nosy and keep asking them why they’re on social media late at night. Or, they haven’t replied to some texts and don’t want the sender to see them active and feel bad. Some users also do it to hide the fact that they use social media during work hours.

If someone has hidden their online status on Telegram, it is possible that one of these reasons has pushed them to do it. However, if this is the case, your texts to them would have a double tick, indicating that they are using Telegram, after all.

3. You Have Been Blocked

Lastly, if a person’s status is consistently showing “Last seen a long time ago” and you doubt that they would’ve deleted their account or hidden their status, here’s what could’ve happened.

This user could also have blocked you. Considering your relationship with this person, do you consider it to be a possibility? If your answer is “yes,” then perhaps that’s the case.

Telegram values the privacy of all its users equally, which is why it will never notify you about being blocked by another user. While it might seem harsh right now, if the roles are ever reversed in the future, and you block someone else, this feature will protect your best interest as well.

So, you think you’re blocked, but Telegram isn’t going to confirm it directly. Is there any other way of figuring out if that’s really the case? Well, there’s no sure shot way, but there are other signs that might indicate the same.

Let’s explore these signs:

Sign 1: The first and most important sign of someone blocking you on Telegram is the absence of an “account deleted” warning.

Whenever a person has deleted their account on Telegram, and another user tries to reach them, Telegram will notify you of their action by sending an “account deleted” warning. However, if this person has blocked you, you will receive no “account deleted” notice.

Sign 2: If you block someone on Telegram, that person will no longer have access to any of your data, including your display picture. So, if this person has blocked you in place of their picture, you’ll simply see their initials.

This could also be because they removed their picture. But if someone is using their account and are habituated to adding their pictures, for how long will they really keep it blank?

Sign 3: When you send someone who has blocked you a text message, it will always be displayed with a single tick, meaning that it hasn’t reached them. Again, it could also mean that they haven’t been using Telegram lately.

Sign 4: Have you tried to connect with this person via audio or video call lately? You will notice how none of your calls will go through; moreover, you might also receive a privacy notice, which signals strongly towards the fact that you’ve been blocked.

In the end:

With this, we come to the end of our blog. Today, we’ve explored why a Telegrammer’s status might be showing “Last seen a long time ago,” listing down all the possible reasons behind it. Do you think we have missed out on something? Please feel free to let us know in the comment section below.

Also Read:

Posted by
Dharmesh Donda

iStaunch is written by Dharmesh Donda, an avid Internet geek, IT professional since 2012. Have been in IT industry for more than a decade, and currently doing management and consulting work have taken a plunge into entrepreneurship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.