If i Block Someone on Telegram, Can They See My Older Messages?

Have you ever had the urge to block a bothersome Telegram user? We’ve all been there. They send illogical memes to everyone in the group, which is annoying, to say the least. Blocking someone is simple, but what happens when you do it, particularly when it comes to messages?

if i block someone on telegram, can they see my older messages

Have you considered if the blocked person may still view your older Telegram messages? If these ideas bother you, it’s time to get those questions answered. Let’s get it; we’re here to assist you with the answers.

If I Block Someone on Telegram, Can They See My Older Messages?

When you block someone on Telegram, the messages you exchanged with them before the block will still be visible to both of you. In other words, the user can still access the older messages.

Remember that this will mostly impact how you communicate with the person going forward. Once you unblock them, only then can they message you.

Remember, you will need to manually erase older chats before blocking the person if you would like to do so. If the person has already seen your messages before being blocked, they will still have a record of those messages in their chat history. If so, there isn’t much you can do to address it.

Allow us to quickly walk you through blocking someone on Telegram. In case you require assistance, you can proceed with the steps.

Step 1: Visit Telegram on your device.

Step 2: You’ll see the chat interface once you’re there. Navigate to the person you want to block.

To do so, use the search bar at the top of the page or manually scroll down until you spot them.

Step 3: Once you’ve found the person’s chat, tap and hold it.

Step 4: A three-dot icon appears at the upper right corner of the screen. Go ahead and click on it.

Step 5: 4 options appear in the menu list: Archive, Mark as read, Clear History, and Block user.

Select Block user from the list.

Step 6: Upon doing so, a message pops up on the screen.

The full message states:

Block (username)

Do you want to block username from messaging and calling you on Telegram?

Click on the Block user option to confirm your action.

Note: There is a delete this chat option accessible inside this confirmation box, which is chosen by default. You can continue with the steps if you’d like. If you’d like to keep that chat, proceed without selecting the option.

How to delete messages on Telegram?

We know it didn’t work if you blocked someone on Telegram only to have your chats with them erased or to wipe out the awkward message exchange. Telegram doesn’t let other users know when you block somebody. But it would be much more embarrassing if they found out you blocked them.

We are here to reassure you that you may easily delete the message you sent. Additionally, your chat history will vanish from that person’s chats as well, depending on the setting you select.

If blocking was the first thought that sprang to mind because of certain text exchanges on this platform, we bet you were unaware of this awesome feature. We are here to assist you with deleting the messages, so please review the instructions.

Here’s how you delete the messages on Telegram:

Step 1: On Telegram, move down to the target person’s chat you want to delete.

Step 2: Open the chat once you’re there and tap the three vertical dots at the upper right corner.

Step 3: There’s a delete chat option. Click on it.

Step 4: Upon doing so, you’ll see a message box pop up on the screen.

The message states:

Delete chat

Permanently delete the chat with a username.

Tap on the delete chat option to confirm.

Also, if you want the chats to get deleted for the person, select the option that says Also delete for username, and you’re good to go.

Tip: You can also choose the clear history option from the three vertical dots. Your chat history with that individual will be cleared.

Here, you have the option to remove the user’s chat history as well. By doing so, both parties’ entire chat history is deleted.

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.