Snapchat is a popular instant messaging and media sharing app that lets you easily talk with friends, exchange pictures and videos (known as snaps), view live stories from around the world, and explore news in Discover. The app is filled with a massive range of filters, exceptional tools, and interesting features. That’s why Snapchat has indeed become the users’ favorite platform in no time.
It is a place for memories shared instantly in snaps, stored in stories, and lived in groups. People flaunt the best moments in their stories, and as friends, you share these moments with them.
You have to be credits to the app as well as the peer-induced fear of missing out. And hence, like it or hate it, you can’t ignore it. Because, honestly, all your friends, colleagues, and the whole of your social circle is busy socializing here.
What sets it apart is the fact that no one can capture a screenshot of your posts or save them without the user getting notified for the same. Your posts also remain for 24 hours and you can check out the list of people that watched your posts.
But have you wished that you could watch someone’s Snapchat story without them knowing? Have you ever felt that you should check the stories but refrained from doing so because you got scared the user will know you have seen it?
Well, that’s one of the most commonly asked questions these days. And, not only for Snapchat but almost every social networking site.
People wonder if there’s a way they can watch the target’s story without getting their names on the watch list.
Unfortunately, there is no direct feature that allows you to view someone’s Snapchat story without the users’ knowledge. But, guess what? We have a trick that will help you see a story without them knowing. In simple words, you can watch any story on Snapchat without notifying the user about it.
Now, the methods we have listed below are tested and proven. We have checked each one of them and they worked.
Without further ado, let’s get straight to the ways you can view someone’s Snapchat story without them knowing.
What are Snapchat Stories?
Snapchat stories are images or videos you can upload to your profile that only stay there for twenty-four hours since the time of upload and disappear after that.
People you are friends with can view the stories in that time, and you will be able to see a list of people who viewed your stories with their username under the view icon.
Similarly, when your friends post a story, it will appear on the top of your feed, and when you view it, your friend will be able to see your username in story views.
How to View Someone’s Snapchat Story Without them Knowing
- Open the Snapchat app.
- Swipe left to reveal the Snapchat Stories.
- Refresh it to load all stories.
- Turn off your mobile data or wifi.
- View the story as many times as you want.
- Your story count will be only stored in the app cache.
- As internet is off, it will not be sent to server.
- Nou can’t enable the data for the next 24 hours otherwise, your name will listed on the story viewers list.
- After 24 hours, you can enable the data and even if your story view gets sent to the server, the user won’t see your view as the story would have vanished.
If you do not wish to part with your data connection for such a long time, there is another way as well. For this, you will need to open the Snapchat app and keep it connected to the data for some time to let all the stories load. Then, you can switch on airplane mode in two minutes or so and see the story that you want to view without them knowing.
At this point, your view has been recorded but not been sent to the server because you are not connected to the internet. As soon as you are back online, it will be sent to the server, and the person will see your view on their story.
To prevent this from happening, you need to stay in airplane mode and close Snapchat.
Now, go to the settings > installed app > select Snapchat. You will be able to see a clear cache and data option at the bottom, click on it, and tada! Your app cache is now gone, and your recorded view as well. You can now safely switch off airplane mode and use the internet.
For iPhone users, instead of clearing the app cache, you will need to uninstall the app itself from the device. This will remove all app data from your phone. Then, you can again install it from the Apple store and continue using the app safely.
Viewing a story in airplane mode and then uninstalling the app is a good way. Although clearing the cache works all the time, this method eliminates the chances of failure. Just put your phone on airplane mode, view the story, uninstall the app, wait for some time to reconnect to the internet, and install the app yet again! As simple as that.