Without a doubt, Facebook is an excellent social platform for interacting with your social connections, promoting and conducting business, and staying informed about topics of interest. However, users may consider deleting or deactivating their Facebook account for a variety of reasons. Users, for example, may find it time-consuming or attention-consuming. Certain users may also be concerned about data privacy issues.
Whether you find Facebook to be a distraction in your life or are concerned about having personal data stored there, you have the option to temporarily disable or permanently delete your account. Because the site understands that users may change their minds after opting for deletion, Facebook allows you a short period of time to change your mind before removing your data from its servers.
Even if you are unable to recover your deleted Facebook account, if you created a backup copy of your data before deleting your account, you will still have access to all of your posts, images, and other data.
Account Deactivation vs. Account Deletion
If you’re having second thoughts about deleting your Facebook account and want to recover it, first determine whether you deleted it or deactivated it. Facebook does not impose a time limit for recovering a deactivated account, as it does for recovering a deleted account. When you deactivate your Facebook account, your timeline is hidden from everyone and your name is not displayed when people search for you.
When one of your Facebook friends looks through their friend’s list, your account still appears, but without your profile image. Furthermore, content like Facebook messages or comments on other people pages remains on the site. Facebook does not delete any of your data when you deactivate your account, so everything is still there for you to reactivate it.
When an account is permanently deleted, however, that data is no longer accessible to you, and there is nothing you can do to recover it. To allow people to change their minds after deleting their Facebook accounts, Facebook allows you to regain access to your account and data for up to 30 days after the deletion request. The full time it takes Facebook to delete your account data, including comments and posts, is usually 90 days, though the site mentions it may be longer if stored in their backup storage, but you can’t access those files after 30 days.
Reactivate a Deactivated Account
If you’re not sure whether you deactivated or deleted your Facebook account, try logging in via the Facebook app or website. If you no longer have access to your account, you can use Facebook’s account recovery process to verify your identity using your phone number or a similar method and reset your password.
You’ll see a message about reactivating your account and gaining access to all of your contacts, groups, posts, media, and other Facebook data once you’ve logged in.
How to Recover Deleted Facebook Account
Previously, Facebook provided a 14-day grace period to recover a deleted FB account. However, the social media giant has now extended this period to 30 days after noticing a large number of people attempting to reactivate their FB account after deleting it. As a result, users now have one month to restore their deleted Facebook account.
If you voluntarily deleted your Facebook account, you can use the immediately available steps to recover your disabled FB account within 30 days; however, if you have a blocked account, you can use the additional steps listed below.
Reverse a Facebook Account’s Deletion
- Go to Facebook.com and sign in with your previous credentials.
- When your deleted Facebook account is discovered using your previous ID and Password, you will be given two options: “Confirm Deletion” or “Cancel Deletion.”
- You can use the latter option to cancel the deletion of your Facebook account.
- After a few minutes, you can begin using your Facebook account.
In some cases, you may be subjected to verification, which you can complete as needed, such as if you are presented with security questions, which you can answer and then proceed to access your account.
As with attempting to reactivate a Facebook account, you can log in to see if you can cancel the deletion process. As long as it hasn’t been more than 30 days, you’ll see the date when Facebook intends to permanently delete your account, as well as a “Cancel Deletion” button. Click this button to halt the process while retaining your data.
If it has been more than 30 days, you will receive an error message about a failed login and will be unable to restore your account data. If the content you want to restore includes images, videos, or other similar items that you’ve shared, you can check with your contacts to see if the files are still available. You can also look through the media on your device, as you may have saved those items before posting them.
How to Unblock Your Facebook Account
If your Facebook account has been disabled and you have no idea why you can file an appeal with Facebook to have it reactivated. Do you have any ideas on how to accomplish this? Here’s our guide to doing the same. Please keep in mind that this method is only applicable if you receive a message stating that “your account is disabled” while attempting to log in. If you are not seeing this message and are still unable to log in, you may be experiencing other issues that you can try troubleshooting in other ways.
From your system, navigate to the “My personal Facebook account is disabled” page of the FB Help Centre.
There is a form here that you can fill out to request that Facebook review their activity on your account.
When you click the link provided on the Facebook help page, you will be redirected to a form where you must fill out some basic information such as:
- Your email address or mobile phone number, which you’ve been using to access your Facebook account.
- Your complete name.
- You must also upload an image of your photo ID, which could be your driver’s license or passport.
- You can also provide additional information to the Facebook support team in the “Additional info” field. This could include the possible causes of the activities that resulted in the suspension of your account.
- Following this, you can send your appeal to Facebook by clicking the Send button.
If Facebook decides to reactivate your account, you will receive an email informing you of the date and time your account will be reactivated.
Manual Reactivation of a Facebook Account
Did you know that if you previously deactivated your Facebook account, you can reactivate it even after a few years? If you still have the mobile number you used to log in with, open the Facebook app and enter the same number now. You will be sent an OTP to your mobile number, which you can enter to reset your password. And follow the instruction mentioned below.
- Open Facebook in the web browser on your PC.
- Enter your email address or phone number.
- Then enter the password. If you have forgotten your Facebook password, you can reset it by clicking on the Forgotten Password option.
- Finally, select the Login option.
- Wait for your News Feed to be activated. If your News Feed opened normally, it means your Facebook account is no longer deactivated.
- That’s all there is to it! You are now ready to use your reactivated Facebook account.
Hope you’ve learned how to recover a deleted Facebook account. You are also now aware of how to restore your Facebook account if it has been blocked by Facebook for inexplicable reasons. Unless you are absolutely certain that you want to delete your Facebook account, it is always better to deactivate it first.