When the group chat feature was initially introduced on WhatsApp, the users were crazy about it for a number of reasons. At that time, communication through the internet was in its first phase; people were still getting used to the idea. Moreover, talking to all your friends at one place even if you don’t live nearby was another reason why people loved group chat.
Today, almost all social media platforms offer a group chat feature for the convenience of their users, although the feature is most widely used on WhatsApp. Instagram, Snapchat, and Tumblr and some of the apps which have a group chat option. In today’s blog, we will be talking about the group chat feature on Snapchat.
Leaving group chats can be problematic because you don’t want to hurt the person who has added you to the group. However, it does not mean that you just have to lower your head and take it. There are a number of reasons why you might want to leave a group; a good friend or relative will understand that.
Is There a Way to Leave Snapchat Group Without Notifying Other Members?
The short answer to this question is no. If you leave your Snapchat group, all the members will get a notification in the chat, saying, “[username] has left the group.” However, they won’t receive a separate notification; they will only be able to see that message if they open the chat.
Moreover, when you leave the group, all the messages, snaps, and videos sent by you will automatically be deleted. So, if you were an active member of the group, there is no way you could make a discreet exit.
With that being said, many users have reported that there is a hack that can help you in such a situation. However, before you go ahead and try to do it, remember that there is no certainty of it working. You can first read it and then decide if it is worth the risk.
How to Leave Snapchat Group Without Notification
The first step in making sure that no one is notified of you leaving the group is blocking them. Don’t worry; you only have to block them for a few minutes.
So, you can block all the members of the chat one-by-one, and then leave the group. This way, they won’t be notified about your leaving because they cannot be notified about any of your activity in the group.
Sounds easy, doesn’t it? Let us tell you how you can block a user on Snapchat to make it easier for you.
Step 1: Open the Snapchat app on your smartphone and log in to your account.
Step 2: To finish your task faster, just go directly to the group info of the group. For that, click on the bitmoji of the group. There, you will see all the users who are a member of the group.
Step 3: Long press on the username of the first member. A pop-up menu will appear. You will see a number of options like Snap, Chat, Audio call, Video call, and More. Click on More.
Step 4: Once you do that, another pop-up menu will appear. From here, tap on the second option that is written in red: Block.
There you go. Now you just have to repeat this process with all the other group members to make sure that no one is notified that you’re leaving the group.
Also, remember to unblock all of them immediately after leaving the group. While there is no way they will realize that you’ve blocked them that quickly, you can never be too cautious.
Lastly, keep in mind that even though they will not be notified about you leaving the group, it will take them on second to click on the group info to see that you are not there.