If you are a regular Twitter user, you must be following some individuals, organizations, or companies to get their latest updates and interact with their tweets. And that’s what Twitter is about- connecting with people, sharing your opinions, and staying updated on what’s happening in the world around you.
Sometimes, however, you might notice that you can’t see the profile and tweets of someone you follow. This might happen for several reasons. The other person’s account might have been deactivated, deleted, or worse, suspended. It is also possible that the person might have blocked you.
But how can you know if someone’s account was deleted or suspended? How can you detect whether the account has blocked you? It can be confusing to differentiate one case from the other, right? Well, we are here to clear up your confusion with the help of this blog.
Today, we will be telling you how you can identify if someone has deleted their Twitter Account by just looking at their profile and tweets. We will explain everything in detail so that you don’t have to go anywhere else to look for more information. We have done the research and verified all the methods ourselves. So, keep reading to find out.
How to Know if Someone Deleted Their Twitter Account
If someone has deactivated their Twitter account, their account activity becomes temporarily hidden from other users. But, with the help of a little inspection, you can know if the account was deleted.
Note that the effects are the same for both deactivated and deleted accounts. Therefore, the process for detecting a deleted account is similar to the one for detecting a deactivated account. Here’s how you can know if an account was deactivated/deleted:
1. Through their Profile Page
If you know the account’s username, you can easily know if it is deactivated or deleted.
Step 1: On the Search section of the app or website, search the account’s username by typing “@username” in the search box. Replace “username” with the actual username of the account.
Step 2: If the account was deleted/deactivated/suspended, then the account will not show up in the results. Click on “Go to @username” at the bottom to go directly to the account profile page.
Now, assuming you have entered the correct username, four things can happen:
- Account deactivated or deleted: In this case, you will be taken to the Profile page, where you can see the account’s username. But that’s all. You will only see a message “This account doesn’t exist.”
- Account Suspended: In this case, you will see the message Account Suspended.
- Account deleted but username taken by another account: This is also possible. In this case, you will see the profile of someone else who has now taken the username
- The account has blocked you: This might disappoint you. But, if the person has blocked you, Twitter will directly tell you, “You are blocked from following @username and viewing @username’s tweets.”
2. Through Direct Messages and Tweets
If you had messaged this person on Twitter in the past, then you will see that the entire conversation between you two has completely disappeared. But this can also happen if Twitter suspends the account. The same is true for tweets. So, this method is not as efficient as the first one is.
3. Through the Followers and Following lists
If the account has been deleted or suspended, it will disappear from your Following list if you followed them; and from the Followers list if they followed you.
Frequently Asked Questions
I deactivated my account and now want to reactivate it. How can I do that?
It is very simple. Log in to your deactivated account with your username and password, and you will be asked to confirm if you want to Reactivate it. Click on Yes, Reactivate. That’s it. You have reactivated your account.
What happens when someone reactivates their account?
Everything changes back to the way it was before deactivation. The profile, messages, and tweets reappear. It’s as if nothing ever happened!