If You Block Someone on Twitter, Can They See Your DMs?

Twitter is among the top 20 social media platforms of all time. With a whopping 450 million monthly active users, it’s a flourishing platform and will probably remain so in the foreseeable future. Despite not having as many teenage users as Instagram and Facebook, it still has a specific target audience and caters to them with hospitality and respect. In fact, Twitter has recently been making headlines following Elon Musk’s worldwide controversial Twitter acquisition. If you don’t know anything about it till now, let us warn you that you’re in for a rollercoaster ride.

if you block someone on twitter, can they see your dms

In April 2022, the Tesla CEO offered to buy Twitter for $44 billion after he was denied a seat on the Twitter Board of Directors. He claimed many things were wrong with how Twitter was managed and wanted to bring change from the inside.

Anyhow, Twitter CEO Parag Agarwal came through with all the information Musk requested. However, there was some discrepancy in the percentage of bots and spam users in that data. While Twitter claims less than 5% of its users are bots and/or spam accounts, Musk claims the number is about 20%.

In today’s blog, we’ll talk about whether or not someone can see your DMs after you’ve blocked them.

If You Block Someone on Twitter, Can They See Your DMs?

Twitter is a large social media platform with users from around the world. It’s not surprising to encounter the occasional fake account or an inappropriate or creepy user. Don’t worry; it happens to all users, and there’s a pretty easy way to avoid it, too.

The best way to avoid meeting potentially creepy or problematic users is to not talk to strangers on the platform. However, that’s kind of the point of using a social media platform, right? Networking with new people around the world makes the internet fun!

So, the next best thing to do is to avoid anyone who doesn’t have an obviously legitimate profile. Make sure that their profile is so open that they cannot possibly be an imposter.

If you talk to somebody who could turn out to be someone else rather than the person they were claiming to be, ask them questions. Ask them highly specific questions about whatever they tell you about themselves. If they’re faking it, there’s a big chance they’ll slip up.

So, you now know how you can avoid getting in trouble online with a stranger. But what would you do if you were already in trouble? Maybe you’ve accidentally given over personal information or images/videos to someone on the internet. Don’t worry; you can still get out of it pretty much unscathed.

Block the user and report them to Twitter. To take it a step ahead, you can also contact the Twitter team about the problem you’re facing. They’ll surely take immediate action again the user’s account and get your data back.

If the other user didn’t screenshot or save anything you sent, your DMs would disappear when you block them. So, blocking them is very important; they won’t be able to view or reply to any of the DMs exchanged between the two of you after that.

Here’s how to block someone on Twitter

Step 1: Launch Twitter on your smartphone and log in to your account.

Step 2: The first screen you’ll see is the Home tab. At the bottom of that page, you’ll notice four icons. Tap on the icon located right next to the home icon, the Search tab.

Step 3: You’ll see a search bar at the top of the Search tab. Tap on it, enter the username of the person you wish to block, and tap on Search.

if you block someone on twitter, can they see your dms

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.