Blocking people online is equivalent to never seeing or interacting with them in real life. With time, we have all learned and used this feature on different social media applications. Of course, many users view blocking an individual as a dramatic action, but that is not the case at all! You can use this button on whoever’s account you want because the decision is up to you. Let’s talk about this feature in the context of one of the popular social media powerhouse Instagram today. We know that this app, too, is equipped with the blocking button, right?
We use it on strangers, followers, and people who we follow as well. There could be different reasons, but we will talk about one of the questions related to the after-effect of blocking someone on the app.
We have heard multiple people asking, “If you block someone on Instagram does it delete messages.” Let’s put all this curiosity surrounding the question to an end in the blog.
We will discuss the question today, so make sure you pay attention to not miss out on any important section. Kindly stay with us through the end to receive your answers.
If You Block Someone on Instagram Does it Delete Messages?
We have all had at least that one person in our Instagram DMs who annoys us to no end. Of course, it is also the time when the option to block sounds brilliant. However, we have at least a couple of questions, if not more, when we consider blocking someone on the app.
Let us get on to the main topic of the conversation: Do Instagram messages get deleted when someone is blocked? Let’s first review the information provided by the Instagram help center.
When you block someone on Instagram, your conversation with them will still be available to you in your direct inbox, according to the Instagram Help Center. This specific action will only restrict your ability to message the blocked contact. You can neither send messages nor receive them from the contact in question. Thus, any old messages you have still remain while there would be no new incoming messages.
While we are here, we should also tell you that you will not receive any messages from the blocked contact while they are blocked, as they won’t get delivered. The messages will remain undelivered even if you decide to unblock them anytime in the future.
However, the scenario is a little different with group messages on Instagram. We all create or join groups on Instagram, right? When you are in a group message with a blocked contact, you will receive a dialogue asking whether you want to stay in or leave. You can choose to stay if you want to see the messages from the blocked contact in the group.
Speaking of which, do you know how to block someone on Instagram? We will mention the guide below, so ensure you follow it if you wish to know about it.
How to block someone on Instagram?
Like most other social media platforms, Instagram has a blocking button to keep random unwanted individuals away from your account. The block button is incredibly necessary to maintain peace on the platform.
It has become common to block people, and rarely will you find people with absolutely no names on that list. We are hoping that you know how to block someone on Instagram! However, even if you don’t or are a little hesitant about the steps, we are happy to help you!
Thus, we hope you will check the steps below.
Steps to block someone on Instagram:
Step 1: You must look for the Instagram app on your phone. Log in to get access to your profile if you are signed out.
Step 2: Tap on the search bar icon at the bottom of the main feed to use the search bar on the following page.
Step 3: Type in the target person’s username and press on the name when you see it in the search result.
Step 4: A three-vertical dot icon isat the upper right-hand corner of the person’s profile. Please go ahead and click on it to proceed.
Step 5: Upon doing so, you will see an options menu pop-up on the screen. Please select the block from this menu.
Step 6: Another menu will surface on the page. Tap on Block (username) and hit the block button towards the bottom of the menu to confirm the action.
How do you unsend messages from Instagram Direct Messages (DMs)?
It is a hassle to block someone on Instagram only to delete messages, don’t you think? We know you work on instincts and do what comes to your mind first. However, you can simply delete or unsend the message, you know? Instagram has an option in place to help us with that.
So, let us see the step guide to delete a chat from the Instagram direct message (DM) in the section below.
Steps to unsend a message from Instagram DM:
Step 1: Open your Instagram app using your login credentials if required.
Step 2: You should now head to the Direct message icon at the top right section of the feed.
Step 3: Find the chat you want to delete and open the chat thread.
Step 4: Tap and hold the message until an unsend option is visible to you.
Step 5: Select unsend from the menu list, and you are good to go!
In the end
With this, we have decided to wrap up our discussion. So, let’s revisit the key takeaways of the blog, shall we?
The topic of our conversation was If you block someone on Instagram does it delete messages? We have answered the question for you, so go through it.
Please refer to the steps to delete or unsend messages in the next section. We sincerely hope you like our blog and discover the solutions you were seeking. You can follow us for more tech-related content!