If I Have Blocked Someone from Viewing Instagram Story, Can They See Highlights?

The growing popularity of social media is both a boon and bane to the netizens. While it has opened up new digital opportunities for expression unlike ever before, it has also made a low-key life impossible.

blocked someone from viewing instagram story can they see highlights

Roughly five years ago, avoiding someone you don’t like or find annoying on social media was easy as pie. You could simply block them online, and when asked offline, tell them you had stopped using the platform. But today, nobody would believe you if you attempt to use such an excuse.

And if you’re a creator and need to keep an open profile, the control of who can access your content doesn’t lie in your own hands. To keep such issues in check, all platforms are launching narrow privacy and blocking features. One such feature on Instagram is of blocking someone from viewing your stories.

But what if you make your story more permanent on your profile? Will they still not see it? Or do highlights work differently? If these questions have been troubling you, fret not. We’re here to your rescue! Stick with us till the end to find all the answers you’ve been waiting for.

Can Blocking Someone from Viewing Your Story Prevent them from Seeing Your Highlights? 

Now that we’ve talked at length about how stories and highlights work on Instagram, let’s move on to explore story-blocking.

What is story-blocking? Well, it’s a setting you can use to hide your stories from someone without removing them from your followers’ list or blocking them completely. This feature is more useful for Instagrammers with a public account. Because people who don’t even follow them can access their content, it can be challenging for them to prevent some particular users from viewing their stories.

To help these public account owners, Instagram has launched the story-blocking feature. But what’s the validity period for this setting? If you’ve blocked someone from viewing your stories but later store them as highlights on your profile, will they still be banned from seeing them?

Yes, they will be. From the minute you block someone from your stories, they’ll be banned from viewing any highlights you create thereafter. In simpler words, if someone has been blocked from seeing your stories, they wouldn’t be able to see them no matter what. Unless, of course, they use a different account to do so.

Also Read:

Posted by
Dharmesh Donda

iStaunch is written by Dharmesh Donda, an avid Internet geek, IT professional since 2012. Have been in IT industry for more than a decade, and currently doing management and consulting work have taken a plunge into entrepreneurship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.