If I Delete a Contact on WhatsApp, Can They See My Status?

WhatsApp is one of the top social media messaging platforms worldwide. Many factors were behind their victory over all other social media platforms: the easy-to-navigate layout, the simple, minimalistic display, and the strict privacy policy. The platform also highly holds customer reviews; complaints and appraisals are heard and replied to.

if i delete a contact on whatsapp can they see my status

Although it all sounds easy in theory, it isn’t the same in practical application. For instance, all Instagram users are aware of the recent updates for the platform’s beta users. Even after repeated negative reviews, Instagram used the update for all users. The users took to Twitter to criticize the decision and make fun of the new features. Honestly, it does seem like Instagram is being made to transition into the new TikTok, and it’s not a successful transition.

Seeing Instagram’s recent blunder has made all users more appreciable of WhatsApp’s reliability and attention to detail. After every app update by WhatsApp, they also post small videos on the platform, explaining how the users can operate those features without confusion.

WhatsApp has been the backbone of a couple of user-data leakage scandals in the past and, by the looks of it, has also learned from its mistakes. Their policy now is top-notch, with no loopholes or margin for error.

To ensure that their users get the whole experience without trouble, WhatsApp also pays special attention to its security features. Blocking, reporting, muting, and archiving are some features they’ve added in updates for a smooth user experience.

Read on to learn whether or not someone can see your WhatsApp status after you’ve deleted your contact. We’ll also discuss the other security features offered by WhatsApp and how you can use them to your benefit.

If I Delete a Contact on WhatsApp, Can They See My Status?

First things first, if you’re wondering whether or not someone can see your WhatsApp status after you’ve deleted your contact, you’ve come to the right place. The answer is: no, they can’t.

When you delete someone’s number, they’re also automatically removed from your WhatsApp. When you look for their chat, their number will be written instead of their name. Depending on your settings, they might still be able to see your WhatsApp profile picture and About (more on that later). But they won’t be able to see your status updates.

WhatsApp has only three options for your status updates visibility; in all three of them, it’s clearly stated that the person must be in your contacts. So, if that’s what you were worried about, you can rest assured.

If you weren’t aware of this setting on WhatsApp, now’s your time to use this feature and control who sees your status updates.

Also Read:

Posted by
Dharmesh Donda

iStaunch is written by Dharmesh Donda, an avid Internet geek, IT professional since 2012. Have been in IT industry for more than a decade, and currently doing management and consulting work have taken a plunge into entrepreneurship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.