Ever since Snapchat was launched 11 years ago, people knew it was going to be something different. The platform had set out to create a unique world of social media, and over a decade later, they’re still going strong with the same goal in mind. From the timed messages and snaps of the platform to its quirky filters, the platform offers everything a person might look for to entertain themselves socially online. However, like most things in life, it comes with its own downsides as well.
Whether you were upset with a friend or were having a lover’s spat, have you ever ended up blocking the next person in the heat of the moment? You needn’t feel insecure about your answer; we’ve all been there and know how humiliating it can feel later on.
Our topic of discussion today revolves around the block feature on Snapchat as well. If you have ever blocked someone and later wondered about the possibility of seeing their story, stick with us till the end to figure out if it can be done.
What happens when I block someone on Snapchat?
We understand that your concern here is figuring out if you can see someone’s story after having blocked them. But do you know why this question is bothering you? This is because while you might use the block feature of the platform casually, you’re not familiar with all that it entails.
We aim to change that in order to help you make more informed and well-thought decisions on social media. But how will we do that? To begin with, we’ll discuss all the major changes that take place on Snapchat once you block someone. Let’s get started!
They won’t appear on your Friends list
As a Snapchatter, you must’ve checked your My Friends list multiple times, haven’t you? This list, located on your profile, contains the name of everyone you are friends with on the platform.
But when you block a friend on Snapchat, their name will disappear from your My Friends list. The same thing will happen to their My Friends list as well; if they open it and start looking for you, they’d end up disappointed.
Any message or snap they send will not be delivered to you
The second important consequence of blocking someone is that your Conversation with them will be removed from both theirs and your own Chat tab.
And even if some older, saved messages might be left behind in their Chat tab, any new message or snap they send you will appear delivered to them but will not come through to you.
You can’t find them in Search
The easiest way of finding anyone on Snapchat is through the Search feature. However, after you block someone, they won’t be able to find you on Search either.
Every time they enter your username, all they’ll find is No results with a poop emoji drawn above; the same will happen if you try to look them up.
If I Block Someone on Snapchat, Can I Still See Their Story?
Having covered the basics of how blocking works on Snapchat, let’s come down to the real question: Can you see the story of a Snapchatter you blocked?
As you might have gathered by now, such a thing is not possible on Snapchat; not until you have another mutual friend and are using their account (which is highly unlikely). You need to understand that the action of blocking is meant to sever all ties between you two on the platform; this includes stories as well.
Here’s what you can do to see their story
With all that being said, if you’re still eager to see this person’s story on Snapchat, the first step you need to take is unblocking them. Confused about how that’s done? No worries; just follow these steps and you’ll get there:
Step 1: Launch the Snapchat app on your smartphone.
From the Camera tab that you first land on, navigate your bitmoji’s thumbnail on the top-left corner of the screen. When you find it, give it a tap.
Step 2: Upon doing so, you’ll find yourself on your Profile tab, with your bitmoji displayed in full view on the top.
Here, go to the top-right corner of your screen. You’ll find a cogwheel icon there; tap on it.
Step 3: Next, you’ll land on your Settings tab, which will further be divided into several subcategories, such as MY ACCOUNT, PRIVACY CONTROLS, MORE INFORMATION,and so on.
The seventh (and last) category on this list is of ACCOUNT ACTIONS, with 13 options within it.
Step 4: The 10th option on this list is of Blocked with a right-facing arrow drawn next to it. Tap on this option when you find it.
Step 5: Upon doing so, you’ll be taken to your Blocked list, wherein the names of all users you’ve blocked on the platform will be displayed, with a black cross drawn next to each one.
Navigate the person’s name whom you want to unblock, and then tap on the cross next to their username. You’ll see a confirmation message, asking if you’re sure you want to unblock this Snapchatter?
Tap on Yes, and their name will disappear from this list, which indicates that they’ve been unblocked.
From here onwards, there are two different possibilities which will determine your next step:
If their View My Story setting is set on Everyone
If they’ve set the visibility of their story to Everyone, you needn’t befriend them again. You can simply enter their username in Search and check out their stories from there.
If their View My Story setting is set on My Friends
On the other hand, if their story is only visible to their friends, it means you need to add them as a friend once again and wait for them to add you back to view their story. Be ready with an explanation because some awkward questions might come your way.