A blend of Twitter (X), WordPress, and throw in a little Pinterest too- yes, that’s what our microblogging platform Tumblr is! Doesn’t it sound absolutely cool? Most people may have heard of the platform, but unfortunately, not many have ever installed it on their phones or used it. Kind of sad, if you ask us!
Anyway, it appears that Elon Musk’s recent takeover of Twitter has prompted a large number of creators to move to this site! We’re here today for all the clueless Tumblr users who are still struggling to use its features. The question of the hour is, do all Tumblr posts disappear when you delete your account?
It’s a common concern for many users of Tumblr, so let’s jump right into the details, shall we?
Do All Tumblr Posts Disappear When You Delete Your Account?
Let’s set the record straight: Your Tumblr posts will disappear when you delete your account. According to Tumblr Help, deletions on Tumblr are final- deleted posts cannot be restored. None of your posts or data shared on the platform will show up on the server; be mindful of that.
Uninstalling the Tumblr app and permanently deleting the account are two separate actions. Uninstalling the app doesn’t erase your shared data from your account.
You can install the app anytime; everything will be in their usual position. However, if your account is deleted, you have nowhere to keep that data. Hence, they’ll be lost!
Now that you know that you’re going to lose all your posts forever, what’s your next plan? Well, you can do nothing if you don’t care about them or retain them somewhere to look back when you want.
If you choose the latter, the next section is for you. Please give it a look.
Export your Tumblr posts
It’s possible! Exporting your Tumblr posts is easier than you’d have imagined. There is no tech knowledge or rocket science behind the process; just a little time from your schedule, and you’re good to go.
Bidding Goodbye to apps can make you sad, especially if you are attached to it. But if it causes distraction, it has to go for the time being, right? With that note, we’re here to help you in the process of exporting your Tumblr posts.
Want to learn the tips? If you’re eager, grab your devices and follow along.
Steps to export your Tumblr posts:
Step 1: Launch the Tumblr app on your device.
Step 2: Navigate to your Tumblr dashboard and head to Settings. Click on it once you find it.
Step 3: Move down to the option called Data and Security next.
Step 4: Can you spot the Export your data option? Go ahead and tap it.
Tumblr will then generate a Zip file filled with the data, which you must extract once you have it. Now, you can delete your account without worrying about any single shared post vanishing into digital oblivion!
Step 1: Navigate to your Tumblr privacy dashboard and move to download your data.
Step 2: There, you’ll see the Request a Download option. Please select all the data that needs to be stored and hit the next button.