Why do I Still See Profile Pictures of Blocked Contacts on Whatsapp?

WhatsApp is the best social media messaging service in the world today. Not only is it a great platform with close to all the features one could ask for, but it’s also careful with its customer service. Although Telegram and Facebook Messenger are close contenders, they cannot come to achieve what WhatsApp has. WhatsApp is known more for its convenience than anything else. It is an all-ages-appropriate platform with an aesthetic, modern design, and easy-to-use interface. Even the older generations don’t have any trouble navigating through WhatsApp.

why do i still see profile pictures of blocked contacts on whatsapp

One of the reasons why this happens is that WhatsApp has devised a unique way of introducing new features to users. For example, the “slide to reply” feature was launched yesterday. WhatsApp posts a status from its official account, which is sent to every WhatsApp user.

In today’s blog, we’ll tell you why you can still see the profile pictures of those you’ve blocked on WhatsApp. If you want to learn all about it, you’ll need to keep reading until the end!

Why do I Still See Profile Pictures of Blocked Contacts on Whatsapp?

Let’s start with your initial question: why can you still see the profile pictures of those you’ve blocked on WhatsApp? We know this might seem like a technical glitch or error, but it’s not. You can see the profile pictures of blocked contacts because they haven’t blocked you.

Let us explain to you how blocking someone on WhatsApp works.

When you block somebody on WhatsApp, it makes you invisible to them on the platform. They cannot see your profile picture, bio, status updates, last seen, and online status.

They also cannot send you a text/voice message, audio/video call you, or add you to a group. If they try to send you a message, it’ll only get a single grey tick that means sent but not delivered. However, they’ll get no official confirmation that you’ve blocked them.

So, as far as your privacy goes, you don’t need to worry about anything.

While blocking someone will automatically hide their status updates from you, you’ll still very well be able to see their about and profile picture. That’ll only change if they block you back, which is not that common since it doesn’t make much difference.

If you think about it, those conditions sound quite reasonable. What if you decided to unblock someone one day, but when you go to your blocked list, you don’t know which one they are? After all, no one remembers phone numbers anymore.

If these conditions sound fair, read on to learn how you can block someone on WhatsApp.

Here’s how to block a user on WhatsApp

Step 1: Launch WhatsApp on your mobile device. On launch, the first tab is the Chats tab; you can see all the conversations you’ve ever had on WhatsApp here, except the ones you’ve deleted.

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.