WhatsApp is a social media messaging and media service with close to two billion users worldwide. That shouldn’t come as a surprise, seeing how every smartphone user uses WhatsApp, and the app is installed as a system app in in-box smartphones. However, like all great companies and institutions, WhatsApp also had its share of struggles and problems before reaching its peak. But unlike most unsuccessful companies, WhatsApp handled those problems with clever thinking and grace.
The main reason for this, as you can guess, is the founders’ mentality. Their goal from day one was to provide a free, secure, convenient, and ad-free platform for people to communicate. And while there are quite a few troubles along the way, today, we can safely say that it is everything it set out to be.
One of the things WhatsApp is well-known for is its ability to solve users’ problems with creative solutions. There are many examples of this happening, but one particular incident comes to mind where many users were against the read receipts feature.
If you don’t know, read receipts are the stamps that let others know if you have seen their messages. It sounds really great and convenient when you first hear about it: isn’t it supposed to be helpful?
Well, the problem here lies with privacy. Not everyone wants others to know when they’ve seen their message. Moreover, it’s also problematic for those who cannot immediately reply to a message after seeing it. In those cases, the sender feels ignored and upset for no reason.
To resolve this issue which had divided the WhatsApp user base, the platform went straight into the basics by making read receipts an optional feature. Now, users can decide if they want others to see their receipts.
However, if a user turns off his read receipts, he won’t be able to see others’ read receipts, even if they have activated that feature. Doesn’t that sound so fair?
In today’s blog, we’ll discuss why you can still see the profile picture of a person who has blocked you on WhatsApp. Stick with us till this blog’s end to find the answer to your query.
Why do I Still See Profile Picture of Someone Who Blocked Me on Whatsapp?
Let’s start with your initial question: why is it that you can see someone’s profile picture on WhatsApp, even after they’ve blocked you?
Well, trust us; the answer is way easier than you think. If you can see someone’s profile picture on WhatsApp, that’s a one hundred percent guaranteed indication that you haven’t been blocked.
Let us first tell you how blocking works on WhatsApp. If a user has blocked you, their main goal is for you not to be able to contact them in any way on WhatsApp. They also don’t want to see any other updates from your side.
So, what will happen is that you won’t be able to message, voice, or video call them at all. Well, you could, but your calls won’t go through, and your messages wouldn’t get delivered. Your status updates won’t be visible to them, and vice versa. Moreover, you won’t be able to see their WhatsApp bio and profile picture, but they’ll be able to see yours.
As you can tell, WhatsApp takes the privacy of its users very seriously and doesn’t play when it comes to it.
So, you now know that there’s no way you can see their profile picture after being blocked. It simply means you’ve been unblocked; send them a message to know for sure!
Now that we’re done with that let’s discuss how you can block a user on WhatsApp if they’re a problem for you.
Step 1: Open WhatsApp on your phone; the first tab you’ll see is your chats.
Step 2: Locate the user’s chat who you wish to block and tap on it.
Step 3: You’ll see three dots floating icon at the screen’s top right, tap on that. A smaller menu with fewer options will appear.
Step 4: Here, tap on the last one, called More. On the smaller menu that appears, tap on the second option called Block, and you’re great to go!
As we come to the end of yet another blog, let’s briefly recap what we’ve talked about today.
Among the many great features made for different purposes on WhatsApp, there’s the blocking feature. It was made for the users’ security and mental peace, and so far, it has done a pretty good job.
If you think someone has blocked you but can still see their profile picture, you’ve probably got it wrong. They haven’t blocked you because if they had, you wouldn’t be able to see any of their information except their number, which you already have.
Lastly, we’ve talked about how you can block a user on WhatsApp if it ever comes to that.
If we’ve managed cleared your doubts and help you in any way, do let us know in the comments section below!