If you feel embarrassed to be on a dating site like Tinder or Bumble, please don’t be. These days, it’s quite difficult and, frankly, exhausting to find a perfect match whose interests align with yours offline. Although it’s not that easy online, at least you don’t have to put as much effort into it when it’s through your phone, right?
And what’s more, it’s even easier to get rid of someone you don’t like online. Just unmatch them, and boom! They’re gone. However, this low-commitment requirement has done many users more harm than good.
Think about all the people who have low self-esteem and anxiety. They might not be that good at texting, but they don’t deserve the text and ghost treatment they get on such sites. In the name of privacy, these platforms have given the users free reins to anything and everything they want since all they need to do is block someone to get rid of them.
If you ever feel like you’re not hitting the vibes with someone, it’s not wrong of you to feel that way. The correct way to deal with this is to let them know how you feel and apologize if you’ve caused them any hurt.
Read on until the end of this blog to learn how to unmatch someone on Tinder and the consequences of doing so.
What happens when you unmatch on Tinder?
If you’re on Tinder, you must always be used to unmatching users. However, have you ever wondered what actually happens when you unmatch someone?
Sure, you can’t see their profile anymore. But what’s more? Can they see your profile? What happens to your chats? Do they realize that they’ve been unmatched?
If all these questions have plagued your mind, you’ve come to the right place. Here’s what happens when you unmatch a user on Tinder:
The messages disappear
They’ll disappear from your account, so you won’t be able to send them a message again. All the previous texts exchanged between the two of you will also disappear. If you feel like you want to keep those messages, you can easily take screenshots. Don’t worry; Tinder won’t notify them whenever you take a screenshot of the chats.
You won’t see them again
If you unmatch someone, it’s a given that you don’t want to see them again. The teams at Tinder are skilled at what they do, so rest assured that you’ll never see them on your match list again.
Of course, the priority is to prevent them from bothering you, so you won’t appear on their match list as well.
In a way, you can say that unmatching someone on Tinder is the same as blocking someone on Instagram or Snapchat, except that you won’t ever be able to see their profile to match with them again.
These are the consequences of unmatching someone on Tinder.
If You Unmatch Someone on Tinder Will They Know?
Well, not exactly.
Tinder is a dating site, and they’re extra careful about its users’ privacy. If you unmatch someone, they certainly won’t notify them or let them know, in any way, that they’ve lost a match.
However, it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that they’ve been unmatched. One day, someone’s talking to you; the next, they can’t see your profile in their chat list. So, notified or not, they will figure out that they’ve either been unmatched or blocked.