How to Unsend Messages on Snapchat [Delete Snapchat Messages from Both Sides]

In this fast-moving world, most of us are quick to act and seldom think things through. If you’ve ever sent someone a message in a moment of heat, anger, or weakness and are regretting it now, you’d certainly want to have a way out, wouldn’t you? Well, the omnipresent social media has heard you, and, thus, many social media platforms like Instagram and WhatsApp are rolling out the unsend message feature on their platform.

unsend messages on snapchat

But what about Snapchat? This one social media platform was never known to follow conventions set by other platforms and still isn’t. When it comes to unsending messages, has Snapchat made an exception? Or is it still the same?

If you’ve come here wondering whether a message can be unsent on Snapchat or not, you’re exactly where you should be.

In our blog today, we’ll talk at length about the possibility of the unsend message feature on Snapchat, other ways of message deletion, and more.

Is it Possible to Unsend Messages on Snapchat?

Unfortunately, it is not possible to unsend messages on Snapchat. While the unsend feature has become quite popular on other social media platforms, it is yet to arrive on Snapchat. And truth be told, we don’t even think Snapchat needs a feature like that.

It is because the message deletion feature that’s present on Snapchat currently does more or less the same thing that unsending messages can do on other platforms. If you don’t believe us, keep reading to find out for sure.

How to Delete (Unsend) Snapchat Messages from Both Sides

In the last section, we’ve already learned that the feature of unsending messages is not available on Snapchat yet. However, what you can do on this platform is delete a message after sending it to someone. Obviously, this can be done both before and after the recipient has opened or read it, although that might defeat the purpose for some users.

Deleting a message on Snapchat is a fairly simple task. But if you’ve never done it before, it might take you some time to figure out how it’s done. And since we’re here to save your precious time, you can simply follow these steps to get it done:

Step 1: Open Snapchat on your smartphone. You’ll be taken to your Camera tab; at the bottom of the screen, you’ll see a column of five icons, where you’d be one the middle one right now.

In order to go to the Chat tab, you can either tap on the message icon on your immediate left or simply swipe right on the screen.

unsend messages on snapchat

Step 2: Once you’re on the Chat tab, search for the person whom you’ve sent the message that needs to be deleted by scrolling through your chat list.

However, if your chat list is far too long, you can take another, shorter method as well. On the top-left corner of the Chat tab, navigate a magnifying glass icon and tap on it.

In the search bar that appears on doing it, type the username of this person and hit enter. Their name will appear on top with their bitmoji; tap on it to open their chat.

unsend messages on snapchat

Step 3: If the message you want to delete from this chat was recent, you wouldn’t need to scroll up; you’d find it right in front of your eyes. Now, all you need to do is long-press that particular message for a couple of seconds until a floating menu appears on your screen.

unsend messages on snapchat

Step 4: On this menu, you’ll find five actionable options, the last one on the list being Delete with a bin icon next to it.

unsend messages on snapchat

Step 5: Once you tap on it, you’ll see a dialogue box asking you to confirm your action. Tap on the Delete button on it to move ahead, and that message will be deleted.

unsend messages on snapchat

You’ll also notice how in place of the message you have deleted, there’ll be You deleted a chat written instead.

Will Recipient Know That You’ve Deleted a Message?

If you’re trying to delete a message in a hurry, it clearly indicates that you’ve perhaps sent someone something that you didn’t want them to see.

However, while deleting the message before they see it can establish that, would the recipient still know that a message was sent to them from your account and was deleted later? Yes, they would, and there’s little you can do about it.

What you can do is tell them, “Oh! I was sending something to someone else, and it got sent to you instead. Silly me!” when they come asking.

What about snaps? Can they be deleted as well?

Now that we’ve already covered how messages can be deleted on Snapchat, let’s move on to snaps. Can those be deleted on the platform? Yes, they can be, and in this section, we’ll tell you everything you need to know about it.

Once you send someone a snap and feel like sending it was a mistake, deleting it right away is possible on the platform. All you need to do is follow steps 1-3 from the last section, and instead of selecting a message, select this snap.

When you long-press on this snap, the only option that you’re going to see on the screen is of Delete. Snapchat will ask you to confirm your action, and once you do, your snap will be deleted from the chat of both parties. That wasn’t difficult at all, was it now?

With all that being said, there’s still a minor problem. While you can delete a snap after sending it, it doesn’t mean that the recipient will have no knowledge of it. Just as with a message, they’ll still know that you’ve deleted a snap, not through a notification but simply when they open their chat with you. Unfortunately, there’s nothing you can do to get rid of that.

Also Read:

Posted by
Dharmesh Donda

iStaunch is written by Dharmesh Donda, an avid Internet geek, IT professional since 2012. Have been in IT industry for more than a decade, and currently doing management and consulting work have taken a plunge into entrepreneurship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.