Like other social networking sites, Instagram values its users’ privacy and allows you to adjust your privacy settings to ensure only selected people watch your posts and stories. One such privacy feature that’s used commonly these days is the “hide the story”. If you have been uploading stories on Whatsapp for quite a while, you must have noticed an option on the platform that enables you to hide your stories from a certain set of people.
Similarly, Instagram has added a feature that allows you to hide your story from certain people. You could also share your stories with people you have added to the “close friends” list. This way your story will only be visible to your close friends.
There is a buzz around a specific story that someone shared on their Instagram. Everyone is talking about it and people are sharing it on their feeds. But, you can’t seem to find that red loop around the story. That’s when you know you are hidden from the user’s Instagram story. If the person has kept their stories hidden from you, that means everybody except you can watch that user’s stories.
How to Know if Someone Hide Their Story From You on Instagram
Unfortunately, there is no way to tell if someone has hidden their stories from you. Instagram does not send you a notification when you are added to the “hidden users” list (for privacy reasons). Plus, there is also a chance you might be unable to watch the story because of connectivity issues.
Never confront a person just because you couldn’t load their stories. There are a few ways you can try to know if the target has hidden their stories from you or not. Note that these methods may or may not work for you. But, it is worth giving it a try.
Check it with a Friend
If you think someone has hidden their stories from you, find a mutual friend who is following their account and ask them to tell you whenever they share a story. If they alert you about the stories, head to their page and check if you can see the story ring on their profile. If you don’t see the pink ring around their profile, chances are they have blocked you from watching their stories. This might be for a particular story or for all future stories.