You will all agree with us when we say that love is rare to find. And it is with the objective of making love easier to find that online dating platforms like Tinder were launched. Today, the platform has over 75 million active users monthly, which indicates that it must be helping its users in some way or the other.
If you’ve ever been on Tinder, you already know how this platform works and how complex some features of the app can be. One such complexity here is trying to figure out if someone has unmatched you on Tinder or deleted their account from the platform.
When someone deletes their Tinder account, it could be for a number of reasons. Perhaps they’ve found the right partner and want to settle for good, or they might not like the profiles they’ve been seeing on the platform lately.
Some users also quit the platform because their experience with online dating wasn’t as good as they were expecting it to be. And all of these reasons are good enough if you’ve chosen to delete your account.
In this guide, you’ll learn how to know if someone deleted their Tinder account.
How to Know if Someone Deleted Their Tinder Account
1. Their Profile Will Be Removed
The first and most apparent sign of someone deleting their Tinder account is that their profile is removed from the platform. It means that their profile will no longer be found in the Discovery section of other users, neither will you be able to look them up using the search bar (if you two have matched).
Also when you directly open their profile through the link, it will display an error message “Oops It appears something went wrong. Please try again”.
2. All Their Current Matches Will Be Removed
When someone deletes their Tinder account permanently, Tinder will automatically assume that they’ve either found their match or are no longer interested in dating online. In both cases, there’s no point holding their matches indefinitely.
This is why, as soon as someone deletes their account, all their current matches will be unmatched immediately. However, if you were one of these matches, it might seem like this person has just unmatched you. Many times, this has led to great confusion among Tinder users.
In the next section, we’ll discuss how you can tell the difference between someone unmatching you and deleting their Tinder account. But for now, let’s back to the topic at hand and move on to talk about the last sign that indicates that a person’s Tinder account has indeed been deleted.
3. Any Conversation You’ve Had With Them on Tinder Will Disappear
When people delete their account on Tinder, the Tinder team removes all their chats from the platform just like they remove their matches. To make it all more permanent, they also remove these chats from the account of other users involved in it.
In other words, once a person deletes their Tinder account, all conversations on the platform that involved them will be removed.
Did Someone Really Delete their Tinder Account? Or Have They Unmatched You?
If you’ve been paying attention to what we were talking about so far, you’ll notice how all the three signs mentioned above also apply to when someone unmatches you on Tinder. We understand that such confusion can be exhausting for other users, particularly if you’d grown to like this person.
So, how can you tell whether a person has unmatched you or deleted their account? Well, there’s only one way to get it done, and it might take some time and effort.
To tell the difference between these actions, you’ll need another Tinder account. Now, you can either go through the hassle of creating a new (fake) one for yourself and look for them using it, or ask a friend for help.
If any of your friends are on Tinder, you can ask to use their account to look up this person’s profile. However, it won’t be as simple as it sounds. On Tinder, you can only use the search bar to look up the people you’re matched with.
To find someone outside of your matches, you’ll have to adopt the old-school method of swiping through your Discovery section until their profile comes up. The amount of time this process will take depends on the crowd of people using Tinder in your locality and how close this person lives to your location.
We understand that this solution might seem like more trouble than it’s worth for some users. However, in our defense, that’s the only way to know the difference between these two Tinder actions; so, there’s not much we could do about it.
Does Uninstalling Tinder App Delete Your Account?
Are you new on Tinder? Don’t worry; we aren’t judging you about it; we’re merely asking because such questions bother the new users the most. It is because they’re still getting used to the app’s workings and are afraid about what they could lose if they had to uninstall the app.
We’re here to tell you to rest assured because you have no reason to worry. Uninstalling the Tinder app from your smartphone affects your account in no manner whatsoever, other than the fact that you won’t be able to use it during this period.
In other words, as soon as you re-install the Tinder app and log into your account, you’ll find everything to be the same as before, except the new faces in your Discovery section.