On social networking platforms like Snapchat, the block option works wonders to keep specific people out of your online space. You can use it to ban obnoxious users from your account. But questions still bother you, don’t they?
People have recently begun to ask us whether the blocked person can still view the unopened snaps. What do you think?
This blog contains answers if you’re as ignorant about the topic as the rest. Let’s get started immediately.
If You Block Someone on Snapchat, Can They See Unopened Snaps?
To be clear, blocking someone on Snapchat does not reverse any already sent snaps. It implies they can still see the unopened snaps on the platform.
However, note they can no longer view the snap when it expires in 24 hours. Therefore, that is one thing that can help you. In this situation, you can only hope and pray that they don’t see the snaps you sent them.
Please note that if you blocked someone to prevent them from seeing the snap you sent, we hope you see that this strategy is quite ineffective. So, if you have already blocked someone, you can unblock them. Don’t worry; the app doesn’t let the person know you blocked them.
However, on Snapchat, you should know that blocking someone removes them from your friends list. There’s no way to communicate with them if you want to be friends. You have to add them as a friend again.
Gaining access to their phone and accepting your request for them to become friends is the only secret way to do this. That’s not possible for everyone, is it? So, remember these consequences the next time you consider blocking someone for petty reasons.
For further details, we’ll discuss a few more impacts of blocking below. Kindly check it out if you’re interested.
You won’t receive any snaps or messages from them
Yes, that is true. You’re prepared for the unexpected if you think you might receive a message or a snap from someone you have previously blocked.
How come? On Snapchat, blocking someone signifies that you wish to stop communicating with them. The blocked user will surely try to send you messages and snaps as normal, and they have no idea they are blocked, too. But the snaps won’t reach you.
Your Snapchat profile cannot be searched
How do you usually find your friends on Snapchat? The search box is helpful if you know their username, right? You may add them as friends by pasting their usernames, which will cause their names to appear.
However, if you block someone on this app, they can no longer access your account on the social media network. Snapchat won’t put your profile in their search results even if they look for your username.
No screenshot alerts for you
Snapchat is known for its screenshot notifications, isn’t it? Every snap or message you screenshot in a private message is known to the other person. Likewise, you get notified when someone screenshots your messages.
The app notifies you of the screenshots in the chats, too, so there is no escaping it, no matter how badly you want to. This amazing feature stops working for you if you block someone on the platform.
Yes, sadly, you won’t get notified if the blocked person takes a screenshot of your chat. Of course, they will still receive the notification. If you think you can just unblock and see the notification, you’re in the wrong because nothing of that sort happens.
No more viewing each other’s stories
Do you enjoy regularly seeing your friends’ Snapchat stories? From their awkward dancing to their travel updates, we know everything about them even when we aren’t there in person or speaking to them over the phone.
However, on Snapchat, blocking someone prevents them from seeing your stories and prevents you from seeing theirs. Therefore, it’s better to unfriend them so that, even if you can’t see their private stories, at least you can see their public ones.
But you know what’s even better? Communication. You should discuss your disagreements and not break up with someone you’ve known for a long time for no good reason. Try to turn the situation around while there’s still hope.
How do you block someone on Snapchat?
Blocking someone online is typically the best thing you can do if they’re an online threat or a nuisance to you.