Online dating services like Tinder have weaved into the very structure of our lives. The platform has served as a medium for silly and significant narratives, but nobody uses an app for an extended time, right? There will always be a moment when you want to move on and start a fresh chapter. You could have found one genuine partner you were looking for, or perhaps you’re tired of the app and want to put it away for a bit. Hence, continuing to use the app is illogical in both situations.
Should we completely delete Tinder from our life and say goodbye, or should we take a more measured approach and simply remove the app? Do you think about all of this too?
Well, users now have a crucial question on their minds, which we will address below. Tinder users commonly inquire: Will my profile still be visible to people I’ve matched with if I delete my Tinder account and uninstall the app?
We are prepared with our answer in this guide, so let’s dive right in.
If I Delete Tinder Account and Uninstall App, Does My Profile Show to People I’ve Matched With?
There are differences between deleting your Tinder account and uninstalling the app. In the parts that follow, we’ll go through what they mean and the consequences they have separately.
Deleting Tinder account
Remember that deleting your Tinder account might have far more severe repercussions than you may realize. By doing this, you’ll assure that you won’t rejoin the Tinder community until you make up your mind and sign up again.
Do you understand what that means? You won’t be able to match with anybody on Tinder, and your profile won’t be viewable to other users. Therefore, no one can look for you since Tinder has deleted your profile from their system.
Your prior matches can still see your conversations, and it can take a few days before the app completely deletes your app data from its servers. Technically, the profile is still operational for seven days until it vanishes into the digital space.
Please take note that your matches and message will be permanently destroyed if you take the option to delete your account. Finding you via links is also impossible, so we urge people not to try this method since it is useless.
No matter how hard someone searches for your profile, they will constantly get some form of error message. “Oops, it appears something went wrong,” is the most typical error they will discover while searching for you on the platform.
Deleting the account is a simple process. Follow the step guide below.
Steps to delete Tinder account:
Step 1: Open Tinder and look for the silhouette symbol on the far right corner of the bottom navigation bar.
Step 2: Navigate to the settings menu (gear icon) in the upper right corner and tap it.
Step 3: Move to the bottom of the Settings screen to find the Delete Account tab. Please click it to proceed.
Step 4: You will find two options next: Pause my account and delete my account.
Select delete my account.
Step 5: Choose the reason why you’re leaving on the next page or skip it.
Step 6: Tap the delete my account option again to confirm the action.
Note that your Tinder account deletion page makes it clear that if you delete your account, your profile, messages, pictures, and matches will be permanently lost. This action cannot be reversed, and the only way to get access again is to re-register for the app.
Uninstalling the Tinder application
Uninstalling your Tinder account is completely unrelated to deleting the application. It simply means that you are making more room in your smartphone.
Always remember that unmatching your matches does not happen when you delete the Tinder app. Why? Your smartphone cannot access your matches; they are stored on the Tinder servers. Hence, removing the app from the smartphone truly has no impact there.
Follow the steps to uninstall the Tinder app below.
Steps to uninstall the Tinder app:
Step 1: Head to the Tinder app on your device.
Step 2: You must tap and hold the app icon until the options menu appears on the screen.
Step 3: There must be an option to uninstall. Please click on it.
Step 4: You will find a confirmation box to confirm the action. Please tap on uninstall/ok to complete the steps.
There you go; you have uninstalled the Tinder app. Removing the app after deleting the account means that your profile will no longer be visible to your match.