In the world of social media, Snapchat finds a special place away from most other prominent platforms. The distinctiveness of Snapchat comes from the various quirky features it offers its users- features that are blended with uniqueness and creativity, features that make its users get hooked to the app for months and years to come. These features contribute to what makes Snapchat a go-to platform for hanging out online.
Snap Maps are certainly one of the most distinguishing features of Snapchat. Considered overly disclosive by many, Snap Maps enable Snapchatters to share their live location with their friends.
The ability to look at someone else’s whereabouts might seem interesting and useful, but it is not always quite appropriate. After all, you don’t want to appear like a nagging spy to your Snapchat friend. This brings the question, “Does someone get to know when you see their location on Snap Map?”
In the following sections, we’ll explore this question in detail and see whether someone can know if you see their location or click on their bitmoji on Snap Map.
Does Someone Know If You Click on Their Bitmoji on Snap Map?
Apart from its out-of-the-box features, Snapchat is also known for its focus on privacy. The platform doesn’t require people to disclose any data other than their username and makes messages disappear after twenty-four hours unless manually saved by the users.
The Snap Map feature, however, is much of an exception to the privacy-oriented interface of the platform. It allows users to disclose their exact location to all or some of their friends. Due to its disclosive nature, many Snapchatters criticize this feature and prefer to keep it disabled.
However, if you just want to see the location of your friends, you don’t need to worry about your privacy. Snapchat doesn’t notify the user when someone sees them on the Snap Map. In other words, if you see someone’s location on the Snap Map, the other person will NOT know anything about it.
But what happens when you click on someone’s bitmoji on the Snap Map?
Now, this can be a little different. The answer can be a Yes or a No, depending on the situation. Here are the two situations.
Case 1: They won’t know
Most of the time, you will remain unknown even if you click on someone’s bitmoji on Snap Map. Snapchat doesn’t disclose the identity of people who view other people’s locations on the Snap Map.
Clicking on a person’s bitmoji avatar on the Snap Map is safe, except when the following case occurs.
Case 2: They would know
Snapchat lets users send photos and videos (called snaps) to friends or add them to their stories or Snap Map. Snaps added to the Snap Map behave much like stories. If you add your snaps to your Snap Map, anyone who can see you on the map will see your story by tapping your bitmoji, and you will be able to see the list of Snapchatters who viewed the Snap.
Therefore, if you click on the bitmoji of a Snapchatter who has added a Snap to their Snap Map, they would be able to see that you viewed their Snap and, therefore, will know that you clicked on their bitmoji on the Snap Map.
Can you prevent others from seeing your location on Snap Map?
If you don’t want to disclose your location to some or all of your friends on Snapchat, you can do that by changing your Snap Map settings. Follow these steps to change who can see your location on Snap Map:
Step 1: Open Snapchat and log in to your account.
Step 2: Tap on the location pin icon at the screen’s bottom-left corner to go to Snap Map.
Step 3: On the Snap Map screen, you can see your location and the location of your friends. Tap on the Settings icon at the top-right corner of the screen.
Step 4: On the Settings screen of Snap Maps, you can enable Ghost Mode to stop location sharing altogether.
Enabling this mode will prevent everyone from seeing you on Snap Map. Your bitmoji will get covered with a Snapchat ‘ghost’ icon.
If you would rather like to prevent only a selected few friends from seeing your location, you can disable Ghost Mode and choose one of the following options:
My Friends: Select this to make yourself visible to all your friends.
My Friends, Except: Select this to choose the friends you don’t want to be visible to.
Only these friends: By selecting this option, you can selectively allow some friends to see you on Snap Map.
Step 5: After selecting your desired number of friends to include or exclude from visibility, tap on the Save button at the bottom.
Don’t worry. None of your friends will be notified when you include or exclude them from your Snap Map.
Before you go
Although getting to know your friends’ recent location on Snap Map might seem interesting and fun, you might be concerned about what your friends will think of you if they know that you are virtually stalking them! Well, you don’t always need to worry.
We discussed whether someone can see if you click on their bitmoji on Snap Map. Depending on whether the person adds a snap to the map or not, they might or might not know if you looked them up.
However, we know that you have read this far. So, don’t forget to share this blog with your friends before you go.