All of us want to make new friends and be in passionate relationships, but is that always possible? Not really. While everybody has somebody they feel blessed to have, not every person that comes into your life is going to leave you with a pleasant experience. And when you go through such an unpleasant experience, it can take some time to bounce back from it. The first step to doing so involves severing any connection that could help them reach out to you.
This involves deleting their number and unfriending them on all social media platforms. And if this person is still persistent, you can even opt to block them. Because why should you have to deal with all the drama? Your job is only to focus on healing yourself, and their constant messages aren’t helping it.
If you use Snapchat, blocking them on the platform is a must. But how will this action affect your older messages? Will they be lost forever? Or will they still be saved in your chat history? These are the questions that we’ll attempt to answer in today’s blog. Ready to learn their answers? Let’s go!
Does Blocking Someone on Snapchat Delete Messages You Saved?
Among all social media platforms, Snapchat was the first one to have launched disappearing messages: messages that came with a ticking clock and would disappear right after you read them. Then, the platform launched a setting that allowed Snapchatters to extend the lifeline of their messages to 24 hours.
Recently, another feature was rolled out, which enabled users to save messages permanently if they wanted to. Ever since its launch, this feature has been used widely across the platform. This is because, as humans, we like to cling to things that bring us joy, even if they’re merely messages.
So, it’s natural for you to save the messages of someone you enjoy talking to. But when things take a sour turn between you two, so much so that you’re ready to block them, what will happen to those messages?
We’re sorry to disappoint you, but if you block someone, their entire chat will be removed from your Chat tab, including those messages that you saved. Will these messages be deleted forever? That’s a question we’ll talk about later in the blog.
Will they be able to see the saved messages after being blocked?
We just told you that the act of blocking someone would remove their chat from your Snapchat. Aren’t you curious if the same thing will happen to their account? Because that’s how it works on other social media platforms, doesn’t it?
Well, Snapchat like not like other social media platforms; a quality that both flatters and annoys its users at times. When it comes to blocking, the app will remove the chat only from the blocker’s account.
If the person you’ve blocked has saved any of your messages, they’ll still be intact in their Chat tab. The only difference will be that in place of your bitmoji, they’ll see an empty silhouette.
Here’s how you can get your saved messages back:
If the messages that you’ve lost in the process of blocking this person held some sentimental value for you, we understand. Getting over a person is often easier than getting over the memories you made together. And not everyone is ready for the latter.
So, has the damage been done already? You’re in luck because when you block someone, Snapchat doesn’t delete your saved messages but just hides them from your view. And how to get these messages back? We’re afraid unblocking them is the only alternative you have.
If you don’t want to unblock them permanently, you could also unblock them for long enough to be able to access those messages, and then click pictures from a different device. That way, you’ll have your memories and keep them blocked at the same time. Does that sound good to you? Great!
Below, we’ve added a step-by-step guide to help you unblock this person, in case you’re unfamiliar with the process.
Step 1: Navigate the Snapchat icon on your phone’s menu grid and tap on it to launch the app.
Step 2: As the app opens, you’ll first land on the Camera tab.
Look at the top-left corner of your screen; you’ll find two icons there. Tap on the left one, which has the thumbnail of your bitmoji.
Step 3: Doing so will take you to your Profile tab. Here, on the top rightmost corner of the screen, you’ll notice a cogwheel icon. Give this icon a tap to go to your Settings tab.
Step 4: Upon landing on the Settings tab, you’ll see multiple sections with several options listed within each.
Scroll all the way to the bottom of the tab, until you reach the ACCOUNT ACTIONS section. The Blocked option will be listed in the fourth-last place in this section. Tap on it to open your Blocked list.
Step 5: On the next tab you’re taken to, you’ll find the names of all the accounts that you’ve blocked on the platform so far, with a black cross mark drawn next to each one.
Navigate the username of this person on this list, and when you find them, tap on the cross next to their name.
A confirmation message will appear on your screen when you do it, asking if you’re about unblocking them. Tap Yes on this message, and they’ll be unblocked!
Now you know exactly what you need to do next.
Summing it up
With this, we’ve reached the end of our blog. Today, we decoded what Snapchat does with the saved messages when one user blocks the other. We also figured out how these messages show up on the blocked person’s account but not on the account that blocked them.
Lastly, we’ve added steps to unblocking them in case you want to see your saved messages or keep a copy of them somewhere. Is there anything else you’d like to know? Share your Snapchat-related struggles with us in the comments section, and we’ll be back with their solutions soon!