Online dating is becoming increasingly common among older and younger generations to meet new people and potentially find a romantic partner. But with all these options at your fingertips, navigating the online dating scene on Tinder can also seem daunting. The first step is to create an intriguing, authentic profile. It’s essentially the first thing potential matches see about you, so you must make it count. Choose an appealing profile picture that represents you accurately, and create an interesting bio that tells people who you are, your interests and hobbies.
Next up is to start swiping through your potentially perfect matches. You must approach swiping with an open mind; never be picky or judgmental based solely on someone’s profile picture. Remember: people are more than just their looks; everyone deserves a fair chance.
When you encounter someone you like, initiate step three of the protocol by starting a conversation with them. If you’re shy or introverted, remember that everyone is there for the same reason – to meet people and find a potential romantic partner.
When starting a conversation, it’s important to be thoughtful and creative in your approach. Generic pickup lines could miraculously work for a few, but for a wider audience, they appear insincere, impersonal, and downright lazy.
Instead, read through the person’s profile to find something you have in common. If there’s nothing there, find something you could like from their hobbies/interests and read up on it!
Today’s blog will discuss if a match can tell when you delete your Tinder account.
Can a Match Tell if i Deleted My Tinder Account?
If you’re wondering if a match can tell if you deleted your Tinder account, the answer is slightly more complicated. The short answer is no; a match cannot tell if you’ve deleted your Tinder account.
However, they are open to speculation and speculate they will when you stop engaging with them out of the blue. The main reason there’s speculation involved is that even after your account is deleted, your conversations and matches are saved on the Tinder servers for a short time.
So, after you’ve deleted your account, your matches and messages might still be visible. But don’t worry; it’ll only be that way for as long as Tinder takes to clear your data, which generally happens within 24-48 hours.
But rest assured, your profile still won’t be visible to other users, only to those you were matched with right before deleting your account. If you don’t want that, unmatch all your matches; all that’s left is your past conversations with them, and that too, temporarily!
What’ll happen when you delete your Tinder account?
As we’ve mentioned before, all your existing matches will still see your profile and conversations. That is unless you think ahead of time and unmatch them/ delete the conversation before deleting your account.
But if you don’t do this before proceeding, your matches will still see your profile and messages until they do the unmatching and deleting themselves.
Another important point is if you delete your Tinder account and create a new one, your previous matches won’t carry over. If you come across someone you matched with on your last account, you’ll still have to match with them all over.
Deleting your Tinder account also means losing any paid subscription you had. And no, you won’t get a refund for the remaining days left on that subscription.
Here’s how you can delete your Tinder account.
Deleting your Tinder account is a simple process; you can do it from inside the Tinder app, which’ll only take a few seconds.
Step 1: Open the Tinder mobile app on your phone and proceed to Your Profile by tapping on your profile picture’s thumbnail at the screen’s bottom right.
Step 2: From there, tap Settings (the gear icon) at the top right.
Step 3: Scroll to the page’s bottom and tap the Delete Account button.
Step 4: On the next page, Tinder will offer you the option to simply PAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT for the time being. Go ahead and tap the Delete Account button at the page’s bottom anyway.
After you follow these steps, your Tinder account will forever disappear, and other users won’t be able to find you on the app.
Alternatives to Deleting Your Tinder Account
As you know very well by now, deleting your account has some pretty permanent consequences. So, if you’re not 100% sure you want to delete your Tinder account, there are still other, less consequential options.
Pause your Tinder account.
Instead of deleting your account, you have the option to pause it for the time being. Doing so will make your account invisible to other users without losing matches or messages. When you’re ready to start swiping again, unpause your Tinder account, and you’re good to go!
Log out of your Tinder account.
If you just wish to take a small break from Tinder but still want others to see your profiles and chats, you can just log out of the app for a while. When you log back in, you’ll be able to pick up where you left off.
Your messages will still be there, including your chats and matches. In fact, there might be a few new matches waiting for you as well!
Delete the Tinder app from your smartphone.
Deleting the Tinder app is more or less the same as logging out of your account, but this way, you won’t be tempted to use the app. You’ll still have your account and matches if you ever choose to come back again.