Why do you share stories on Snapchat? Ask this question to anyone who regularly shares stories on Snapchat, and they would reply with different versions of the same answer: to share memorable moments with others. The answer makes sense. The ultimate aim of sharing stories is to share your happiness and feelings with people. And that’s why you like sharing stories on Snapchat. You like to wait eagerly for your friends to see your stories and keep checking the story viewers now and then.
But sometimes, your story viewer list can behave a bit differently than usual, and you might see one of your friends mentioned under the Other Snapchatters subhead instead of the Friends subhead.
If you are scratching your head wondering why Snapchat put your friend under this tag, it’s high time you stopped doing that. In the following sections, we will get into this issue in detail and tell you why your friend might appear among Other Snapchatters on your story viewers list.
Let’s first discuss what Other Snapchatters means on Snapchat.
What does “Other Snapchatters” mean on Snapchat?
Snapchat allows you to share your stories with as many people as you want. You can share your stories with not only your friends but also strangers. You can also choose people you don’t want to share your stories with.
While you can share your stories with everyone, Snapchat knows the importance of your friends over random strangers. Therefore, your friends are shown in a separate section on your story viewers list.
Your friends occupy the top of the list under the section Friends, so you can easily know which friends viewed your story. As for the people who are not your friends, Snapchat arranges them just below your friends. These non-friends appear under the section Other Snapchatters on the viewer list.
In other words, the Other Snapchatters list on Snapchat includes people who are not your friends.
However, there is an important point you should understand. As far as story viewers are concerned, Snapchat considers people you have added as friends even if they have not added you back! This means if someone who hasn’t added you views your story, they will appear under Friends if you have added them.
Now, if friends occupy the Friends section of the viewer list, why would some of them appear in the Other Snapchatters section sometimes? The answer is in the next section.
What Does it Mean When Friends Appear Under Other Snap Chatters on Snapchat Story?
As discussed above, the Other Snapchatters section contains people who are not your friends. So, if you see some of your friends under this heading, it is natural to get confused.
Well, there is a reason behind the way everything works on Snapchat. Likewise, there is a reason why Snapchat shows some people as Other Snapchatters, even if they are your friends. In fact, there are three possible reasons. Read on to learn about them.
Reason #1: You haven’t added the person (or you have removed them)
This is the most obvious reason you might see a friend under the Other Snapchatters subhead.
Often, a friend adds you on Snapchat, and you start chatting with them without realizing you haven’t added them. If you don’t add a person on Snapchat, they will always appear under “other Snapchatters” whenever they see your stories.
Similarly, the same can happen if you have unadded a friend on Snapchat. If a friend views your story, they appear under Friends. But if you remove them later, they will move to the Other Snapchatters section.
To sum up, a person can appear under the Other Snapchatters list if you haven’t added them yet or have unadded them recently.
However, the same is NOT true if your friend unadded or removed you on Snapchat. If a person who has not added you views your story, they will still appear as a friend if you have added them as a friend.
Reason #2: The friend blocked you after seeing your story
This is another valid reason why a friend might appear among “Other Snapchatters” on your story viewer list.
If you recently had a serious argument with your friend, they might have blocked you on Snapchat. Now, when someone blocks you on Snapchat, your story becomes hidden from them, and vice versa. But if that happens, how can the person appear on the viewer list of your story?
There is only one possibility of how that might happen: the person blocked you after seeing your story.
When a friend views your story, Snapchat records their view. Even if the person blocks you later, their name remains on your story viewer list. But since blocking removes both of you from each other’s friend list, they will appear in the Other Snapchatters section of the viewer list.
Note: The same can happen if you block your friend after they view your story.
Reason #3: Snapchat has got an issue
If the above two reasons don’t apply to you, that is, if you are sure that you have added the person and none of you have blocked the other, there is only one reason why a Snapchat friend might appear under Other Snapchatters. There is a glitch.
You cannot do much in these cases. You can try a few generic fixes, like updating the app or uninstalling and reinstalling it. Or, you can log out and into your account and see if it helps.
However, there is another, more efficient way to get your friends under the Friends heading, given it’s a glitch and nothing else. You can change the audience of your story from Everyone to Friends Only. This way, only your friends will see your story, and the Other Snapchatters section will disappear altogether.
To change your story audience, open Snapchat and go to your profile page. Scroll down to the My Stories section. Tap on the three dots next to your story banner and select Story Settings. There, you can change the story audience to Friends Only.
In the end
Snapchat can give you a hard time understanding some of the things that happen on the platform. One such confusing thing is seeing a friend who has viewed your story under the Other Snapchatters section.
In this blog, we talked about what this section means and why a friend might appear in this section. We also discussed a few ways to fix this glitch (if it’s a glitch).
If you liked this blog, make sure to share it with as many friends as possible so they, too, can understand this confusing feature and try to fix it if they can.