Instagram started as a social media app where people could interact and share their photos, but nobody knew it would turn into one of the most powerful and feature-packed apps in a few years. Today, Instagram has millions of active user accounts with people posting pictures of their day-to-day events. Whether they are traveling or enjoying a weekend at home, they tend to share every small detail of their life on Instagram.
Instagram offers a direct messaging function, which has been gaining immense popularity lately. When somebody sends you a message on Instagram, it goes into their inbox.
When they see the message, you will see a “seen” tag that appears right below the message. It shows that the person has read the message.
In this post, we will show you how do you know if someone read your direct message on Instagram.
How to Know if Someone Read Your Message on Instagram
To know if someone read your message on Instagram, open the message tab, send a message and when they see the message, you will see a “seen” tag below the message. This is for the message you have sent to an individual. If you sent a message to a group, you will see an eye icon, which shows you the list of people who’ve seen the message.
There you go! That’s how simple it is to know whether or not the person has read your DM on Instagram.
However, this is only for people who follow you back. If the person doesn’t follow you, your message will be shown in the “requests” tab that’s located on the top of your screen. Unfortunately, there is no way you can know whether the person has read your message from the DM requests until they accept your message request. There is a chance the person has checked this tab and read your messages but rejected your DM request.
If that’s the case, you don’t get the seen tag below the message. Your best bet is to hope that the person accepts your message request.
How to Unsend Message on Instagram
Instagram is known for its advanced safety features, making it one of the safest and most entertaining apps out there. One such option it has enabled for people is to unsend the DMs.
Let’s say you were sending a meme to a friend, but it got sent to a colleague or the wrong person. You get the option to unsend the message. Once the message is unsent, the person will not be able to read it anymore. However, there is a chance the person has already seen the message.
Once you have unsent, you can’t know when did they see the message or whether they have seen it or not. Your only option is to ask the user if they have read the message.
Unending an Instagram message as soon as you realize you have sent the wrong message to the target is the best way to ensure that the person doesn’t read it. They won’t even get a notification of a message once it is deleted.