Facebook Messenger is a messaging service where users can communicate with their network. It offers several convenient and efficient features to communicate but also has its disadvantages users should be aware of. One key feature of DMing on Facebook Messenger is convenience. Unlike traditional texting, Messenger allows users to send messages to friends and family without their phone numbers. It also allows voice and video calls, which are great for when messaging simply isn’t enough.
However, DMing on Messenger also has disadvantages, one of them being the constant concern for privacy. While Messenger offers end-to-end encryption, Facebook can still access users’ conversations. This raises concerns about how Facebook uses users’ personal information and whether it’s being used for advertising.
Today’s blog will discuss what’ll happen when you send them a message on Messenger and then immediately block them. Will they still see it? Or was this whole stunt pointless, as they won’t ever be able to see it? Read on to find out!
If You Send Someone a Message on Facebook Messenger and Then Block Them, Can They Still Read It?
Let us get straight to the point: if you send someone a message on Facebook Messenger and then immediately block them, will they still be able to read it? The answer entirely depends on if the message was delivered. But the short answer is they could access it if they receive it before being blocked.
We know you might be a little confused, but don’t worry; we’re here to clarify any doubts you could have. Read on to learn more about how messages are delivered, after which you’ll be informed exactly what’ll happen when you send a message and block them.
Was the message delivered before you blocked them?
The first factor to consider is if the message has been delivered. When you send someone a message on Facebook Messenger, there are a couple of stages before it reaches the intended recipient.
The first stage is when the message is sent; the message has left your device and is on its way to Facebook’s servers. When the message reaches Facebook’s servers, it goes through encryption and is passed to the intended recipient’s device.
The second stage is when the message is delivered; it has been sent to their device, and they just have to open it. If you block someone before the message is delivered, the message won’t be delivered in the first place.
But if the message has been delivered before you block the person, they can read it. This is because the message is already on their device and saved to their Facebook Messenger account.
There’s a common misconception that if the message hasn’t been opened, it will disappear when you block them. However, after running a few tests, we can safely say that it doesn’t matter if they’ve read the message. If it was delivered, they can and will be able to see it.
Blocking a user on Facebook Messenger
When you block someone on Messenger, you basically prevent them from connecting with you there. They can’t send you messages or media, nor will they be able to access your profile or interact with you in any way.
The process of blocking someone on Facebook Messenger is relatively simple.
Step 1: Open the Messenger mobile app on your smartphone. You’ll immediately land on the Chats tab.
Step 2: Find your chats with the user you wish to block. Tap and hold on it; a menu will appear with several options.
Step 3: On the said menu, you’ll locate Block at the bottom. Confirm your action by simply tapping on Block again on the confirmation message.
Once you’ve blocked someone on Messenger, they can’t contact you there. However, this doesn’t mean they won’t see the messages you sent them in the past.
How to prevent a user from reading a message on Messenger?
If you want to stop someone from reading your message on Messenger, there’s a simple solution: just delete the message.
The beauty of this option is that you can delete the message regardless of whether it has been sent, delivered, or read. Deleting a message is simple, quick, and efficient. However, there is a small loophole people often fall prey to.
Even if the recipient has seen the message, you can delete it, but they will see what you’ve done. If you don’t want them to know that you’ve deleted the message, the only option you have is to delete it before they see it.
If they’ve seen the message, we’re sorry to say that you can do nothing to ensure they won’t find out you’ve deleted it.
Here’s what to do when you want to delete a message for everyone on Messenger
Step 1: Open the Messenger app and locate the chat from which you wish to delete a message for everyone.