Snapchat is one of the most Gen Z-dedicated apps in the market, and it’s also very good at what it does. All its users are happy, satisfied, and like the Snapchat app enough to buy a Snapchat subscription! There are a few things to unpack here. Firstly, isn’t Instagram more famous among Gen Z? Secondly, how can we say its users are happy and satisfied? Lastly, is a Snapchat Plus subscription worth it? Although Instagram is the most popular, it still isn’t built with Gen Z users in mind.
It has a larger overall target audience. This isn’t a bad thing, but it’s also not at par with how optimized Snapchat is to accommodate the younger generation.
This brings us over to our next point: how happy Snapchat users are. While we would’ve believed this solely on word value as well, Snapchat ran a survey on internet users’ feelings while using different social media platforms.
And it turns out that Snapchat induces the most positive emotions in its users, like happiness, creativity, flirtatiousness, attractiveness, playfulness, excitement, spontaneity, and silliness. Isn’t that so amazing?
You might be thinking, well, all platforms induce those feelings. Let us tell you how wrong you are by only stating the emotions Twitter apparently induces: anxiety, depression, guilt, isolation, and loneliness. Yikes.
Lastly, let’s discuss what this Snapchat Plus is. The platform rolled out an exclusive, paid version for those patrons who’re truly invested in the app. The $3.99 subscription includes additional elements like the ability to pin someone as your #1 Best Friend, a ghost trail on Snap map, and different Snapchat icons.
You can also find out who’s rewatched your Snapchat stories, get Snapchat for your web browser, and the Best friend solar system.
It’s up to you if the pros outweigh the cons: the only con is it’s not necessary if you’re not an excessive user. Some of these features completely contradict the main concept of Snapchat, so you might also stop liking the platform afterward.
Today’s blog will discuss whether or deleting the Snapchat app will delete all those unopened snaps as well.
If You Delete Snapchat App, Will Unopened Snaps be Deleted?
To answer your question straightforwardly, no; even if you delete the Snapchat app from your smartphone, your unopened snaps will still be there.
There are very few circumstances where you would be unable to see a snap that has already been sent to you. Don’t worry; we’ll discuss all the topics related to it so that you don’t end up being confused.
One of the instances where a snap you’ve already received won’t be viewable for you is if the sender has deleted it. If someone deletes a snap on Snapchat, you will find out in the chat since it’ll be clearly mentioned as [NAME] DELETED A SNAP.
Also, Snapchat is a platform spread far and wide and cannot afford to come off as inconsistent or unfair. So, if you’re the one to delete a sent snap on Snapchat, the other person will also find out about it.
There are many reasons why someone might delete a snap on Snapchat that they’ve already sent. Maybe they didn’t mean to send it to you, or they forgot to turn off the audio.
However, there isn’t much you can do once they’ve unsent the message. You can try to bug them to send that snap back, but you still won’t know if it’s the same one.
Here’s how to delete a snap on Snapchat
Step 1: Locate the white ghost with a yellow background icon on your smartphone and tap on it to launch the Snapchat mobile app.
Step 2: You’ll directly go over to Snapchat’s Camera tab. Swipe right to go to where all the action is happening.
Step 3: As you’d be able to tell by looking at the icon at the screen’s bottom, you’re now on the Chats tab. Locate the chat from where you need to delete the snap and tap on it.
Step 4: If it has already been opened, there’s no point in trying further. However, if you’re lucky enough, and the snap hasn’t been opened, you can still salvage whatever was in there.
Long press on the snap. You’ll see two options: Save in Chat or Delete. Tap on the second option.
Step 5: Snapchat will then go on to inform you that your friends will find out about this deletion and if you still want to delete it. Tap on the black Delete button, and you’re good to go!
And that’s it! Besides this, even if someone has blocked you, the snaps will reach you, and you’ll see them. However, if, for whatever reason, you don’t want to see someone’s snaps, we understand.
Like all other social media platforms, Snapchat is also home to creepy users who take advantage of its advanced privacy to fake their identities.
Now, they could do this only for the sake of their security, but most of the time, this is a malicious trick to exploit users.
Or maybe the things they do generally don’t sit right with you. Whatever the reason is, you now wish to block them. Well, don’t worry; it’s a simple process, and we’re here to guide you step-by-step through it.
Here’s how to block someone on Snapchat
Step 1: Go to Snapchat’s Chats tab, locate, and long press on the chat with the person you’re going to block.
Step 2: On the big pop-up menu, tap on Manage Friendship. Another pop-up menu will materialize with only four options.
Step 3: Tap on Block, and you’ll be good to go!
However, blocking someone can be a bit of an extreme measure. It is the in-real-life equivalent of getting a restraining order on someone and simultaneously ghosting them forever.
Instead, what you really should be doing is removing them as a friend from your account. That’s a simpler, easier way to get your point across without resorting to such rude, sometimes uncalled-for methods.
They can see you and see that you’ve chosen to remove them. Now, they can choose to confront you, apologize to you, or talk it out. Or, they could decide that it’s better off this way, in which case, you can claim good riddance and move on without worrying about if they have something to say.
As our blog is now over, let’s review what we’ve discussed today.
If you uninstall Snapchat from your smartphone, all the snaps you’ve received will be safe and secure. The only circumstance under which a snap you’ve already received will become unavailable is if the sender unsends it.
However, that’s also not an easy road to walk on. Unsending a message means that the receiver will find out about it. Moreover, they also won’t trust you no matter how many times you say that it was nothing. You also cannot send them the snap again because why would they believe it’s the same snap?
So, the best course of action here for you is to simply avoid unsending snaps as far as possible because they give birth to a plethora of problems.