For an instant messaging platform that was designed to make text conversations between people easier, WhatsApp sure has come a long way. Unlike the older times when nothing but texting could be done on the platform, you can now use it to voice and video call other people, upload statuses, and even transfer money to one another.
The population of WhatsApp users has grown phenomenally as well. If you open your smartphone’s contact list today, you’ll notice how almost everyone in it uses WhatsApp. On the other hand, it indicates that all these people would be able to see your account as well. Unless, of course, you’ve blocked them.
Does the thought of everyone in your contact list being able to see your profile picture bother you? Or do you just have a problem with some specific people? In case of the latter, have you ever wondered if simply deleting their number could prevent this from happening? If you have, you’ll need to wonder no more, because, in today’s blog, we’ll answer this very question. Let’s get started!
If I Delete a Contact on WhatsApp Can They Still See My Profile Picture
Before we delve deeper into your profile picture problem, let’s first explore what deleting a contact can change for your WhatsApp account.
Once you delete someone’s number from your smartphone’s contact list, their name will automatically disappear from your WhatsApp contact list as well. If you’ve had any previous conversations with them on the platform, you’ll only be able to see their number and not their name.
Note that doing so will make no difference in them trying to reach out to you. Unlike the case of blocking, they’ll still be able to call or text you as and when they like. They will also be able to see your profile picture and online status.
However, there is a certain setting available on your WhatsApp that you can use to hide your profile picture from those who aren’t in your contacts. Curious to know how that’s done? Find out in the next section.