Nobody wants unwanted guests in their social circle, and this also applies to your online lives! Do you wish for a drama-free Snapchat life, but somehow, people don’t let you exist in peace? The trick to making sure only positive energy comes through for you on the platform is blocking. Depending on your circumstances, blocking someone on Snapchat may be necessary. You may put an end to any unnecessary distractions and fully concentrate on the important individuals to you.
However, some Snapchat users have interesting questions as a result of the powerful blocking feature. Does a person on the platform get removed as a friend, too, if they are blocked? What effects does blocking have on various aspects of Snapchat? Will people know when you block them on the platform?
These are a few of the doubts we will address in this blog. So, let’s get going right now.
Does Blocking Someone on Snapchat Remove Them as a Friend?
Your concern that blocking someone can remove them as a friend is valid! After all, this is a blatant sign that you have actually blocked someone.
Well, yes, when you block someone on Snapchat, they are immediately removed from your friend list. The only way to add them back to your friend list is to unblock them first and then add them as your friend again. You can become Snapchat buddies again if they accept your request.
Let us first guide you through the straightforward process of blocking someone on Snapchat before moving on.
Steps to block someone on Snapchat:
Step 1: Open Snapchat and tap on the chat icon to get to the chat interface.
Step 2: Scroll to the chat with the person you want to block.
Step 3: Tap on their profile icon and select the three-horizontal dot icon at their profile’s upper right corner.
Step 4: Choose the Manage Friendship option from the list.
Step 5: You’ll find the option to block here. Please click on it and confirm your action.
You should be aware that Snapchat doesn’t actually let you know when someone has blocked you, making it quite challenging to tell whether someone has used that feature against you. However, we also have additional indicators that let others know if you’ve blocked them.
What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?
Nobody appreciates obnoxious people tormenting them with dull blank snaps every day. In addition, consider having someone’s story appear sometimes despite your adamant desire to see nothing connected to them.
You’re itching to delete them from your profile, and blocking appears to be the best course of action in these circumstances. The blocked individual is no longer listed as your app friend, but there are other effects. Besides, the points mentioned below are signs that suggest someone has blocked you. You can check them out to learn more once we discuss them below.
No snaps exchange
Snapchat is renowned for its entertaining and engaging features. We like exchanging photos and keeping track of one other on the network. However, blocking someone on Snapchat results in silence across the app.
Therefore, you won’t be able to talk to or exchange pictures with them anymore. The fact that their messages and snaps will no longer reach you is one of the few clear indicators that they have been blocked.
No more calls from Snapchat
We can make free in-app calls using Snapchat’s calling feature. Nowadays, a lot of people use the feature and various filters when video calling buddies for more fun. However, you can’t expect to call someone you’ve blocked because the app limits this option. Additionally, you cannot anticipate receiving a call from a blocked user.
You cannot view their stories
Stories are another fun part of the platform. However, these features appear to be affected in addition to sending and receiving snaps, messages, and story updates.
Yes, if you block someone, they cannot view your story updates since the blocking feature limits this ability too. You now have greater privacy protection and more control over your app. They won’t know you’ve updated a story until a mutual friend informs them deliberately of it or you share it with them via another social media account, neither of which is extremely likely.
A blocked user cannot search your Snapchat profile
There are several ways to add friends on Snapchat, and we all know it. Quick add and snapcode scanning are two ways to add people. If you’d like, you can also conduct a username search. However, the blocked user cannot access your account on the platform.
They won’t see your profile if they try to search for you using your username.
In the end
Blocking individuals on Snapchat enables you to get rid of those that are ruining your enjoyment. We discussed whether Snapchat removes someone as a friend after you block them. We also discussed what happens when you block someone.
Do not be afraid to use the block button on the platform if you are uncomfortable with someone’s behavior there. It is one of the app’s most potent features.
If the situation isn’t too critical, you can choose the remove friend option. But you must be mindful of your selection! Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any more doubts regarding the topic. We are here to clarify them for you.