How to Delete Snapchat Messages Without Them Knowing

What is the one thing about Snapchat that makes it unique? This is one question that does not have a simple, straightforward answer. Instead of being a usual platform with a handful of unique features, Snapchat is a unique platform comprising a host of unusual features. One of the many interesting things about Snapchat is the way chats work. The platform is known for being a privacy-oriented platform and takes utmost care to require and disclose the least amount of user info. But when it comes to in-person chats, Snapchat behaves a bit differently.

delete snapchat messages without them knowing

Messages on Snapchat are, by default, deleted just after viewing or 24 hours after viewing, though each chat participant can save one or more messages manually for the entire chat. If that’s not privacy, nothing else can be.

However, if you capture a screenshot of the chat screen or delete a message in a chat, everyone on the chat gets notified. Although this feature has been made to respect the interests of each chat participant, you might be wondering whether you can surpass this notification.

Welcome to this blog, where we will discover some chat settings of Snapchat and find out if you can surpass some of these settings in any way. Sounds interesting? Keep reading.

Can you delete Snapchat messages without them knowing?

You cannot answer a question without being sure that the question is valid, can you? Whatever your answer might be, ours is NO. Such is the case with the principal question asked in this blog.

Snapchat allows users to delete messages in a matter of seconds. A couple of taps is what it takes to remove a message forever for all the recipients at once. However, since a message equally belongs to the sender and the receiver(s), Snapchat has some interesting rules to balance the needs of each chat participant.

For example, whenever you take a screenshot of any portion of the chat screen, a notification is immediately sent to all the recipients, telling them that you have taken a screenshot.

Here’s How You Delete Snapchat Messages Without Them Knowing

Although there is no sure-shot way of keeping a message deletion notification from other chat participants, you can try some tricks to decrease the chances of knowing about the deletion.

Disable message notifications:

Before deleting any message, make sure to disable the message notification so that the chances of someone seeing the notification decrease automatically.

To disable chat notifications, follow these steps:

Step 1: Open Snapchat and log in to your account.

Step 2: Swipe right on the Camera tab to go to the Chats tab.

delete snapchat messages without them knowing

Step 3: You will see the list of all your conversations on the Chats screen. Tap on the bitmoji icon of any chat to open the friend’s profile.

delete snapchat messages without them knowing

Step 4: Tap on the three dots located at the upper-right corner of the profile screen. A menu will appear with several options.

delete snapchat messages without them knowing

Step 5: Select Chat Settings.

delete snapchat messages without them knowing

Step 6: Tap on the slider beside Message Notifications to turn off notifications for the chat.

delete snapchat messages without them knowing

Delete when no one’s looking:

The time you delete the message can make a difference. You can try to delete the message at a time when most of the participants are offline.

Finding the right time to delete the message would be much easier if you want to delete messages from a one-to-one chat because you would likely know when your friend usually goes offline. In a group chat, though, it can be a bit more difficult.

Send messages after the deletion:

If you don’t want chat participants to see the message deletion notification or text, you can do that by creating several additional notifications, so the deleted message hopefully gets lost in the crowd.

How to create these notifications? By sending messages immediately after deleting the required messages. You can think of a good excuse, such as a joke, story, or incident that might interest your friends. Don’t just spam the chat with the same messages to avoid raising eyebrows.

Closing thoughts

Snapchat respects the privacy of each of its users, and this is explicitly reflected in all the unique features the app offers. Sometimes, however, some of these features can cause some problems.

Snapchat notifies each participant whenever a message from the chat is deleted. This makes it extremely difficult to delete an unwanted message without letting others know. In this blog, we have tried to tell you about some tricks that can hopefully help you delete messages without others knowing.

Were the tips shared in the blog helpful? Tell us what you liked (or didn’t like) about the blog by sharing your comments.

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.