For Messenger users, Facebook has rolled out the delete for everyone feature. This option is currently available for users of both iOS and Android. The feature, which was previously reported to be in the works, is now officially available to users in Bolivia, Poland, Lithuania, India, and Asian countries. The un-send message feature has a time limit of 10 minutes.
Don’t be alarmed if you regret sending someone a message via Facebook Messenger. You still have time to do something about it. Perhaps you delivered the message to the wrong person. Or perhaps you realized you were being too harsh on that person. Perhaps you are concerned that the person will forward your message to one of their contacts. You can fix everything if you act quickly.
Sometimes the information shared on Facebook is so private that you don’t want anyone else to know even a little bit of it. For example, you may find yourself sharing juicy gossip with your girlfriend.
In this case, you don’t want any of this conversation to be leaked. The only way to ensure security is to delete the entire conversation yourself, rather than relying on the other party to do so.
In this guide, you’ll learn how to delete messenger messages from both sides permanently.
How to Delete Messenger Messages from Both Sides
- Launch the Messenger app and login to your account.
- Open the chat and find message that you want to delete from both sides.
- Now tap and hold the message for three seconds.
- It will open a new pop-up screen with different options, tap on the Remove.
- Who do you want to remove this message for? Select Unsend option.
- That’s it, the messsage successfully deleted from both sides, but keep in mind that they may still be included if the conversation is reported.
- You should also see a confirmation message that says, “You unsent a message”.
The recipient, on the other hand, will receive a note informing them that you deleted that message. Unfortunately, there isn’t any way to conceal that note. If you remove a message from your inbox, the recipient will know you did that.
You can always remove the ‘You unsent a message’ notification from your Messenger app. This does not, however, mean that the note will be removed from the recipient’s chat history. The note can only be removed from your chat history. Other chat participants will still be able to see it.
The First Rule is to not send messages that you may later regret sending. Don’t send any messages that could get you in trouble. Remember that even if you successfully use the unsent option, the recipient may have already screenshotted the chat history.
The ability to unsent messages was well received by many Facebook users. However, the option is only available 6 months after the messages were sent. Facebook users cannot undo messages sent more than six months ago. In this case, the only way to delete the messages is to request that the recipient do so.