Snapchat never fails to carry an aura of confusion and uniqueness around itself. The platform knows how to keep users confused every once in a while, no matter how familiar they are with the platform’s out-of-the-box features. Whether you have recently started using Snapchat or have been using the app for quite some time, you can find yourself occasionally scratching your head about a seemingly strange feature on Snapchat.
Chats, stories, snap maps, snaps, private stories, spotlight- every part of Snapchat has enough features to keep you busy understanding them and wondering why they are the way they are.
So, if you cannot understand why the “Accept” button is appearing on the profile of a user you have deleted on Snapchat, this is just one of the platform’s many features. The reason you see this button is not much surprising at all.
Welcome to this blog! In the following sections, we will answer your question regarding the “Accept” button on an unfriended user’s profile. We will also talk about other topics that revolve around friends and chats.
In short, this blog will cover some interesting topics, so the best option for you is to be with us till the end.
Why does it say “Accept” on Snapchat after I deleted them?
First things first, we will assume that by “deleting them” on Snapchat, you mean unfriending a user or removing them from your friend list. Snapchat doesn’t have any option to delete a user. The most you can do is delete them from your friend list.
Now, let’s understand what happens when you delete someone from your friend list.
When it comes to adding friends, Snapchat functions a bit differently from Facebook and a bit similar to Instagram. Becoming friends on Snapchat is a two-way process, meaning you become friends with a user only when both of you add each other as friends.
Therefore, even if you add someone as a friend on Snapchat, you become their friend only when they add you back. Adding someone who hasn’t added you back is like sending a friend request on Facebook. When they add you back, you both become friends. So far, it is quite similar to Facebook.
When you remove a friend on Snapchat, you both cease to be friends. However, you removing them as a friend doesn’t affect their action of adding you. Since the other user had once added you, you will remain added to their Snapchat account.
This is similar to Instagram, where even if you unfollow someone who follows you, you will remain on their Following list until they unfollow you manually. At the same time, this differs from what happens on Facebook, where if you unfriend someone, they need to send you a friend request again to be friends.
By now, you must have the answer to your question yourself. Why does it say “Accept” on Snapchat after you deleted a friend? Because they haven’t deleted- removed- you as a friend yet.
They have added you, so you see Accept, instead of Add. As long as they do not tap the Remove Friend button, you will continue seeing the +Accept button on searching them on Snapchat.
How to Remove the “Accept” Button on Snapchat After You Deleted Them
Many users find it difficult to familiarize themselves with such unusual features of Snapchat. If you don’t like the fact that removing someone from your friend list on Snapchat doesn’t remove you from theirs, you are not the only one to think so. After all, not everything suits everyone.
Fortunately, there exists a way to remove the Accept button from a user’s name if you don’t like it. As always, Snapchat doesn’t provide a direct way to do that. But we have found one, nevertheless.
Basically, you need to block the user on Snapchat and unblock them again. Once you block a user, you will instantly be removed from their Snapchat account. And when you unblock them, it will be a new start.
Steps to block a user on Snapchat:
Follow these steps to block a user on Snapchat.
Step 1: Open the app and log into your Snapchat account.
Step 2: As you land on the Camera tab, tap on the magnifying glass at the top-left corner of the screen and search for the user’s username.
Step 3: Once the user’s name appears in the search results, tap on their bitmoji icon to go to their profile page.
Step 4: On the user’s profile screen, tap on the three dots in the upper-right corner.
Step 5: You will see several options on your screen. Tap on Block.
Step 6: Tap on Block again to confirm. The user will be blocked.
Steps to unblock a user on Snapchat:
You can easily unblock a user on Snapchat from your account settings. Follow these steps:
Step 1: Open the app and go to your profile screen by tapping on your bitmoji in the upper-left corner of the Camera screen.
Step 2: Tap on the gear icon at the top-right corner of your profile. You will land on the Settings screen.
Step 3: Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page, where you will see the Blocked option near the bottom.
Step 4: Tap on Blocked to see the list of users you have blocked.
Step 5: Tap on the cross (×) next to the username of the desired user, and tap on Yes to confirm. The user will be unblocked.
You will see that the Accept button is replaced with the usual Add button.
Snapchat is more fun with friends. But sometimes, you need to remove a friend you don’t wish to talk with anymore.
After deleting a friend from your My Friends list, you might see an “Accept” button next to their name when you search for them or visit their profile. In this blog, we have explained why this button appears instead of the usual “Add” button and how you can replace it with the Add button.
If you like the content we have shared in this blog, you will also like other content we keep sharing on similar topics. So, don’t forget to check them out!