Have you ever met someone online, chatted with them for some time, and later realized that you shouldn’t talk to them? Have you then felt a need to cut them off immediately from your online social circle? If we met such a person in the real world, it might not be easy. But social media sites provide the simplest solution to keep someone off your account if you don’t want to interact with them in any way. With just a few taps and clicks, the pestering user can be blocked from your account for good.
Like all other platforms, Snapchat allows you to block any user from your Snapchat account. Once you block them, all modes of communication between you and them on Snapchat get cut off.
However, sometimes you might just have a change of heart and want to unblock a person. But what happens when you unblock a person you had blocked earlier? Does Snapchat notify a user when you unblock them? What happened to the messages and chats you shared earlier? Will you both become friends again?
This blog will dive deep into what happens when you block and unblock someone on Snapchat. Read on if you are curious to delve into the hidden secrets of Snapchat.
What Happens When You Block and Unblock Someone on Snapchat?
Blocking any user is one of the most extreme steps you can take against someone on Snapchat or any other social media platform. You can block any Snapchatter you want- you don’t have to be friends with them to block them.
Once you block a user on Snapchat, they can no longer message you (if they could earlier), see your story and charms, or search for you in the app.
Here is what happens when you block someone on Snapchat:
You both stop being friends: Blocking someone on Snapchat is equivalent to telling Snapchat that you don’t want to interact with the other person on Snapchat in any way. As soon as you block a user, you cease to be friends with them. Therefore, the user is removed from your friend list.
Chats disappear from your account (but NOT vice versa): Snapchat works a bit differently from other platforms when you block someone. All your previous chats- including any saved messages- disappear from the Chats tab.
However, it is crucial to know that the chats do not get deleted. They merely disappear and get hidden. The blocked person can still view the chats as before.
They cannot send you messages and snaps: Well, the blocked user can send you any messages and snaps they want. But none of them will be delivered to you. The blocked user will see that the messages have been delivered, but effectively, they will land nowhere.
This way, the user won’t explicitly know that they have been blocked. They cannot view your stories and charms, and you cannot view theirs: The blocked user will no longer see your stories in the Stories tab- or anywhere else. Your stories will get hidden from them.
Blocking works both ways. So, you won’t be able to see their stories, either. They cannot search for you: If the blocked user tries to search for your name in the search bar, you won’t appear in the search results.
If you are in their contacts, they might still see you in the All Contacts list but won’t be able to add you. You cannot search for them: You cannot search for their name in the search bar. Even if they are in your contacts, you won’t see them anywhere in any list.
Now, let’s see what happens when you unblock a person you had previously blocked. It’s more simple to understand than you think.
What happens when you unblock someone you had blocked earlier on Snapchat?
Unblocking someone doesn’t reverse all the effects of blocking. Therefore, while some things might return to how they used to, other things won’t.
You both won’t become friends: If you were friends with the other person before you blocked them, you would not become friends with them again, even if you unblock them. You will become friends only when both of you add each other again.
You can search for them (and vice versa): After you unblock the blocked user on Snapchat, your profile will become visible to them once more, and their profile will become visible to you. So, you both can search and find each other from the Search bar.
Chats will remain hidden: The hidden chats will not appear automatically even after you unblock the user. However, you can search for the user and open the chat to see previously saved messages.
You might be able to send messages or snaps to them (and vice versa): Since you are not friends even after you unblocked them, you can send them a message or snap only if their privacy settings allow it. You might also be able to message them if the user allows everyone to contact them.
Similarly, if your privacy settings allow everyone to contact you through chats and snaps, they can also message you.
NOTE: You won’t receive any messages or snaps the user sent you while being blocked. Those messages are lost forever.
You both might view each other’s stories and charms: Again, since you are no longer friends with the user, you can only see their stories if their settings allow non-friends to see their stories. Similarly, they can view your story only if your story settings allow them to.
Blocking someone on Snapchat terminates every single way of connection between you and the blocked user. But unblocking them later doesn’t reverse everything as it was before blocking.
In this blog, we have discussed the obvious and not-so-obvious effects that occur if you block and unblock someone on Snapchat. We have discussed what happens when you block them and what happens when you unblock them later.
If we could explain what you were looking for, give us a thumbs up by sharing this blog with friends. Have suggestions? Drop them in the comments.