Once in a while, you encounter a person online you cannot tolerate any longer and want to eliminate them from your social circle ASAP. Although it’s impossible to get away from someone easily in the real world, it’s just a matter of a few clicks online. Blocking someone online is the quickest (and the rudest) way to cut them off your virtual life. However, the ease with which you can block someone online often causes some unwanted problems.
Decisions taken in the spur of the moment often lead to unanticipated regrets. And if you are a Snapchatter, you’d better be extra careful before blocking someone.
Blocking someone on Snapchat not only removes the person from your friend list but also removes your chats with that person. If the chat had some important message you had saved, that message also disappears along with the entire chat.
Now, if you want to see those saved messages with someone you blocked on Snapchat, you’re at the right place. In this blog, we will discuss whether recovering these messages is possible; and, if so, how you can do that. So, read on to know more.
What happens when I block someone on Snapchat?
When you block someone on Snapchat, Snapchat makes sure all your connections with that person get cut off in one go. The following things happen when you block someone on Snapchat:
- The person gets removed from your friend list, and you get removed from theirs.
- Your chats with the person disappear from both your and your friend’s account.
- You can no longer see their story and charm, and vice versa.
You can no longer contact them on Snapchat, and vice versa. You won’t get results if you search for them using their username.
These features are meant to keep you from interacting with the person as efficiently as possible so you can forget them without any problem. But if you don’t want to forget some important messages, you might not find a straight way.
But there is a way, isn’t it? The answer is YES. Let’s dive into it right now.
Is it Possible to See My Saved Messages With Someone I Blocked on Snapchat?
We’ll be honest with you. If you have blocked someone on Snapchat, it will not be easy to see your saved messages with someone you blocked on Snapchat.
There are apparently only two ways to see your saved messages with someone you have blocked.
- By unblocking them
- By downloading your data
You might not be comfortable with unblocking the person you have blocked. However, that’s the cost of seeing the saved messages from a blocked user. But the person won’t immediately know this, so you don’t need to worry much.
The second method is a longer method and also a bit complicated when compared to the first method. Let’s discuss each of them so you can decide which one suits you best.
Method #1: Unblock the user
The simplest way to see your saved messages from someone you have blocked is by unblocking them and seeing your chats again. Follow these steps to see saved messages by unblocking.
Step 1: Open Snapchat and log into your account.
Step 2: You will land on your Camera tab. Tap on your bitmoji icon on the top-left corner to go to your profile page.
Step 3: On your profile page, tap on the gear icon at the top-right corner to go to your account settings.
Step 4: Scroll down through the Settings page, all the way to the bottom. The Blocked option will be present among the last ones. Tap on this option to see the users you have blocked.
Step 5: You will see the list of users you have blocked. Note the username of the user you need to unblock and tap on the cross icon to unblock them.
Step 6: Go back to the Camera tab and search for the username using the search bar. When the user appears on the result, tap on the name to go to your chats.
That’s it. You can view all your saved messages now. You can block the person again after viewing the messages.
Method #2: Download your data
The first method might not work in some cases if the user has set some restrictions on who can send them messages. In that case, this method can help you see your saved messages with the blocked person.
Step 1: Apply steps 1-5 from the previous method to unblock the user.
Step 2: Now, on your account’s Settings page, you will find the My Data option near the bottom. Tap on this option.
Step 3: You will land on the Accounts page of Snapchat, where you need to log in using your Snapchat credentials. Enter the username and password and tap on Log In.
Step 4: Scroll down to the bottom of the My Data page. Type the email address where you want to get the ZIP file containing your Snapchat data. Tap on Submit Request.
Your file will be prepared within 24 hours.
Step 5: You will receive an email with the subject line, “Your Snapchat data is ready for download,” once your file is ready. Open this mail and click on the link to download your file.
Step 6: You will find your file under the heading Your File is Ready. The file name looks like this: mydata~12345678900.zip
Tap on the file name to download the file.
Step 7: Extract the contents of the file. Open the folder named html and locate the file chat_history.html. You will see your saved messages in this file.
When you block a user on Snapchat, all your conversations with the user disappear from the Chats tab. And, it can seem pretty difficult to find those lost messages if you ever want to see them.
In this blog, we have discussed how you can see your saved messages with someone you blocked on Snapchat. We have explained methods to help you see those messages even after blocking a user.
Which method worked for you? Tell us in the comments down below. Share the blog with your friends to let them know about these tricks.