The social media world is populated by tons of different platforms, each of which wants to stand out in the crowd and make its mark on the web. While there were, are, and will always remain innumerable platforms trying to be the next leader of social media, less than a few make a difference in this ever-changing world. Such platforms- that have built their brand even in a state of nail-biting competition- exist, but not in abundance.
When Snapchat was founded in 2011, Facebook was already the undisputed king of social media. Instagram was witnessing a dramatic rise in growth. Snapchat had but a challenge to make its own identity. Years later, as we talk about it today, we know the snapping platform has made an identity of its own- a unique one.
Snapchat’s interactive interface, one-of-a-kind features, and strict (sometimes confusing) privacy settings have kept its users interested in the platform for months and years. And today, we will talk about a topic that revolves around one such unique feature of Snapchat: stories.
Stories on Snapchat allow you to see snaps from your friends in an interesting way and help you be updated on what’s happening in your friends’ life. But what happens when a Snapchat friend deletes (unfriends) you on Snapchat? Can you see their story anymore? More importantly, can they see your story?
These are some questions we will answer in this blog. Keep reading if you’re interested in finding out these details about your Snapchat stories.
If Someone Deleted You from Snapchat, Can They See Your Story?
Firstly, what do you mean by “deleted”? We ask this because, on Snapchat, there is no such option as “delete” in the context of friends. You cannot delete a friend. You can eliminate someone from your friend list or block them on Snapchat.
Therefore, if you say that someone deleted you on Snapchat, it can mean two things: someone either unfriended or blocked you on Snapchat. Depending on what you mean, the other person might or might not be able to see your stories on Snapchat.
Let’s consider each case separately to answer your question better.
Case 1: If someone removed you as a friend on Snapchat
If someone removed you as a friend on Snapchat, you two are no longer friends. This can have a direct impact on whether they can see your stories.
However, the major deciding factor here is not whether you both are friends but whether your story settings allow them to see your stories. In other words, whether someone can see your stories depends on your story settings. Let’s see how it works.
Snapchat’s story settings allow users to set and modify their story viewership. You have three options to set who can view your story:
Since the person unfriended you on Snapchat, they can only see your story if your story viewership is set to Everyone. If your story viewership is set to “Friends Only,” the person won’t be able to see your story.
Case 2: If someone blocked you on Snapchat
In this case, there is a straight answer: NO.
Blocking someone is an extreme step. If someone blocked you on Snapchat, they have explicitly conveyed to Snapchat that they don’t want to have any contact with you. And Snapchat makes sure their wish is fulfilled. Therefore, once someone blocks you on Snapchat, neither of you two can see the other’s story.
Therefore, if someone blocks you on Snapchat, they can no longer see your story.
If someone deleted you from Snapchat, can you see their story?
The answer to this question is not different from the one we just discussed. Whether you can see someone’s story depends on the story uploader’s story viewership. If their story settings allow non-friends to see their story, you can see their story, too.
However, if they block you on Snapchat, you won’t be able to view their story.
How to change who can see your story on Snapchat?
If you want to see and modify your story viewership settings, there is good news. You can easily modify your story viewership from the privacy settings of the Snapchat app. Follow these steps to modify who can see your story:
Step 1: Open Snapchat and sign into your account.
Step 2: From the Camera tab, tap on your bitmoji at the top-left corner of the screen.
Step 3: As you land on your Profile screen, tap on the gear icon at the upper-right corner to go to your Settings screen.
Step 4: Scroll down through the screen to the Privacy Control subhead. You will see the option View my story under this subhead. Tap on this option to view your story viewership.
Step 5: You can choose who can view your story by selecting Everyone, Friends Only, or Custom.
By choosing Custom, you can block specific friends from seeing your story while allowing other friends to see it.
In the end
Snapchat privacy settings might seem confusing, but they provide enough options to keep your account, messages, and stories secure and private. You have full control over who can interact with you and your account.
Therefore, if someone deleted you from Snapchat, whether or not they can see your story largely depends on your story settings. They can view your story if you allow them to view it. However, if they block you on Snapchat, they won’t be able to view your story.
We are sure this blog would have answered your questions regarding your stories. If you have any more questions, drop them in the comments.