TikTok is a hub of social interactions and content creation. It has seen a rapidly growing user base over the last many years. This is because of the range of features it provides as well as the ease of use of the platform. Users can create content about anything, be it cooking, lifestyle, tutorials, education, and much more.
You can target the content to your niche audience and grow in your own field. You can even form a community where you can meet more people who share common interests with you.
The best part about TikTok is that you do not need expensive equipment or a recording studio to create your content. On TikTok, you also have the freedom to set your account to Public or Private as per your choice.
In this blog, we will explore whether setting your TikTok account to Private will let your followers still be able to find you and your content on the platform. Let’s get started!
If I Set My Tiktok Account to Private, Will Followers Still Able to Find Me?
If you set your TikTok account to Private, it means that your content is only accessible and visible to your approved followers and only they can interact with your account. Let’s explore how it works in this section.
Your current followers will still be able to see your content and access your profile as long as they remain approved followers. They will continue to receive notifications about your posts and updates.
When your TikTok account is set to private, new users who wish to follow you will have to send a follow request. You will receive these requests, and it’s up to you to approve or decline them. Only followers that you have approved will be able to see your content.
Setting your account to private affects your discoverability on TikTok. When your account is private, your profile and content will not appear in the public search results, and users who don’t follow you won’t be able to find your account through the TikTok app.
While your account is Private, you have control over additional privacy settings, such as who can comment on your videos, who can send you direct messages, and who can duet or stitch your videos. You can adjust these settings based on your preferences.
It’s important to note that even with a private account, there’s always a possibility for content to be shared outside of TikTok. So, if maintaining complete privacy is a concern, you should be cautious about what you post.
By setting your TikTok account to Private, you have more control over who can access your content and interact with your account, allowing you to have a more private and selective audience.
How to set your TikTok account to Private?
You may want to set your TikTok account to Private for a number of reasons. You may just want to do it to restrict access to your content to a selective group of people. To set your TikTok account to Private and restrict access to your content, follow the steps as mentioned below.
Step 1: Launch the TikTok app on your mobile device. Make sure you are logged in to your TikTok account.
Step 2: Tap on the Profile icon located at the bottom right corner of the screen. This will take you to your TikTok profile.
Step 3: On your profile, tap on the three vertical dots in the top right corner of the screen. This will open the settings menu for your TikTok account.