TikTok is the pioneer of short-form video content. The launch of TikTok tapped into the interests of users in snackable forms of content. After TikTok started booming, Instagram, YouTube, and many other social media platforms started to promote short-form content.
Despite its popularity, TikTok users have raised questions about the safety and security of their accounts. Even though the platform has basic privacy features like blocking, account restriction, and private accounts, users come across spam or fake accounts now and then.
This is where the blocking option comes in handy. However, users have a few queries about blocking someone on TikTok. We will be addressing such doubts in today’s blog.
Does Blocking Someone on TikTok Delete Messages?
If you plan to block someone on TikTok and wonder if doing so deletes the messages, you’re in the right place. The straightforward answer is no. When you block someone on TikTok, that doesn’t mean your previous conversation with them in the DMs will be deleted.
However, when they try to DM you, they won’t be able to find your username if you have blocked them. Moreover, until you lift the block, you won’t receive any messages from them, even if they continuously text you.
TikTok users have reported that the blocked account cannot view the username in the DMs section. All they can see is the “User unavailable” report. So, if you’ve blocked someone, they can’t directly find your name on their inbox tab. However, if they could identify your conversation, they might try to reach you via text.
You need to notice here that TikTok does not provide a Delete message for everyone option. This means if you delete a text you sent to someone, that doesn’t mean the text is deleted for the other person as well. So, clearly, deleting text works only one way.
Now that you know how blocking someone on TikTok can affect their accessibility to your account, here is a step-by-step instruction on how to block someone on TikTok.
Step 1: Launch the TikTok application using your Android or iOS device.
Step 2: Find the user you want to block. Use the search option or quickly skim the followers list to spot the user.
Step 3: Once you’re on their profile page, tap on the ellipsis ( three dots) or share icon located at the top right corner of the screen.
Step 4: You will see a menu appear at the bottom of your screen. There, you can find the block option in the last row. Tap on it to block the user.
It’s that simple! When you block someone on TikTok, they can’t see your content, drop comments on your posts, send a direct message, or find your account in search results. Blocking someone on TikTok lets you completely cut off ties with them on the platform. This way, you can make sure your account is safe from spam or unwanted users.
If you are not following someone on TikTok, but their content often pops up on your feed, you can block them from their video. Here’s a step-by-step instruction on how to do that.
Step 1: Open TikTok on your preferred device.
Step 2: Go to the videos of the user you want to block.
Step 3: Tap on their profile icon, which is the first option from top to bottom on the right side of your screen.
Step 4: Now, you’ll be redirected to their profile page. There, you can find a three-dot icon located at the top-right corner of the screen. Tap on it.
Step 5: You can find the block option in the menu that appears at the bottom of your screen. Tap on that to block the user completely.
Sometimes, TikTok keeps showing us viral content even though you haven’t shown any interest in it. It’s better to block an account that is irrelevant to your content preferences. The more you signal to TikTok what type of content you would like to consume, the more relevant your feed will be.
Moreover, dropping likes, comments, and following a person is a sign that you like their content. So, if you don’t want to see a specific type of video, it’s better not to interact with them.
As you were concerned about message visibility while blocking someone on TikTok, it might be useful for you to know how to delete a message on TikTok.
If you’re looking to keep the conversation secret from anyone or don’t want to leave any trace of the chat, this can come in handy. Here is a step-by-step guide to help you delete a message on TikTok.
Step 1: Launch the TikTok application on your mobile device.
Step 2: You’ll land on the feed as soon as you open the application. Take a look at the bottom menu. There, you’ll see the inbox icon. Tap on it.