Despite their high price tags, iPhones are long known for their privacy and safety. Users across the world trust Apple without a doubt to shield their digital privacy. Apple launched its first iPhone in 2007, and so far, it has released 38 iterations of the iPhone.
With more than 1.46 billion users, Apple stands tall in the mobile industry. Even though there are many Android devices with impressive features, they were not able to gain the credibility that Apple has garnered all these years.
Their array of inbuilt features like iMessage, FaceTime, AirPlay, battery health checks, and focus filters set the bar too high for Android to reach. However, if you’re an Android user who recently switched to an iPhone, you may have a series of questions popping into your head.
One such frequent question is, “Does blocking someone on iMessage delete messages.” In today’s blog, we will pull down the curtains and educate you on what happens when you block someone from your iPhone or iMessage. Will the blocked user be notified? Can you still see your previous text messages with the person? Let’s figure that out today.
Does Blocking Someone on iMessage Delete Messages?
You have decided to block someone but are confused about whether blocking someone affects your previous chats. What happens when you block someone from your iMessage or, generally, from your iPhone? Can the blocked user contact you again? Will they know that you blocked them?
The answer to all those questions is a resounding no. When you block someone on iMessage, they will neither be notified nor be able to reach you. However, that doesn’t mean they can’t reach you via other third-party social media platforms like WhatsApp or Instagram.
So, rest assured that when you block a person on iMessage, your previous texts will not be deleted. Until you decide to erase the trace of the conversation, your chat history will stay right where you left it.
Now, if you want to know more about the aftereffects of blocking someone on your iPhone, stay and read further.
Undoubtedly, you won’t receive any phone calls from a person you blocked on your iPhone. Even if the blocked person keeps calling you, they won’t be explicitly notified that you blocked them. The caller might either be notified that you’re unreachable or be directed instantly to voicemail.
Here comes the tricky part. Even if the blocked person keeps leaving a voicemail on the answering machine, you won’t be able to access it directly like you would with other voicemails. However, you can see the voice message they left.
In this section, we have included a step-by-step guide on how to see blocked voice messages.
Remember that this step-by-step process doesn’t apply to all iPhone users. It solely depends on which network carrier you use. So, it’s worth a shot if you’re curious to know whether your blocked contact sent you a voice message.
Step 1: Unlock your iPhone device by entering your passcode.
Step 2: Go to the contacts application and see if you have the blocked person’s number saved on your device.
This allows you to easily identify who sent a voice message to you.
Step 3: Now go to your menu and tap on the Phone application to see the voice mails.
Step 4: Take a look at the bottom right corner of the screen, where you can find the voicemail option. Tap on it.
Step 5: Now, you need to scroll all the way down to find the Blocked Messages option. Once you find it, tap on it.
Step 6: This takes you to the list of all the messages a blocked person left for you.
You can listen to them, delete them, or just know the fact that you received the voicemail; it’s all up to you.
Even if a blocked person tries to send you messages constantly, that won’t affect you in any way. As you’ve blocked them, you won’t be the recipient of the message. So, basically, the message goes nowhere.
Yet again, the network provider that the blocked person uses determines what is visible to the sender. For instance, the sender may never see the delivered symbol or can simply see no changes. As a result, they’ll never know if you’ve blocked them.
The same logic applies to FaceTime as well. The blocked person can attempt to call but will never be able to connect with you.
Unlike voicemail, you won’t be indicated in any form saying that the person has attempted to reach you. Moreover, they might not be able to come to the conclusion that you have blocked them or not. This puts them in quite a confused state.
Moreover, blocking someone on iMessage cuts their ties with you in all forms of digital communication, including phone calls, messages, and FaceTime. However, this doesn’t include social media.
How do I block someone on iMessage?
Now that you know the effects of blocking someone, here is a detailed guide on how to block someone on iMessage.
If you’re a new iPhone user, this instruction can help you immensely.
Step 1: Unlock your iPhone using your passcode or fingerprint.
Step 2: Go to your menu tab, locate the iMessage application, and tap on it.
Step 3: Now locate the conversation in your inbox tab. Tap on the chat tab of the person you want to block.
Step 4: Once you’re in the chat interface, tap on the name or number located at the header of the screen.
Step 5: You’ll have a menu with a list of options. There, you need to tap on the info option.
Step 6: Now you can see the Block this Caller option; tap on it to block the user.
That’s how simple it is to block someone on iMessage. Don’t worry about your previous conversation. They won’t be deleted unless you manually do so. Remember, you can unlock them whenever you want.
In the end
iPhone ensures your privacy at all costs. Now that you know blocking someone on iMessage does not delete your past conversation details, go ahead and secure your peace with the blocking option.
As technology grows, users are questioning their privacy and data safety more often than before. So, whenever you feel a little push toward your digital safety net, it’s better to cut ties with the person on the other end.
If you have any queries related to social media like Instagram, Facebook, Snapchat, TikTok, Twitter, and Threads, drop us a line below. Alternatively, you can even check out the website to find similar content.