Instagram allows you to follow other people, become friends with one another, and become a part of each other’s lives. Sometimes that friendship grows into something even bigger, and you two become even closer friends. At times, it also goes wrong, and you may have fights with them. In the digital age, people block or unfriend one another when they no longer want to be in touch. However, when you become really good friends with someone on the platform, you can show it to them in different ways.
One such way on Instagram is adding them to your Close Friends list. A close friends list on Instagram is a way to share your stories with a select group of people. When you share a story with your close friends, only the people on your list will have access to it and be able to see it. This list is private, so no one else can see who all are a part of it.
In this blog, we will explore what it means when the following button becomes green on Instagram. Let’s get started!
What Does It Mean When The Following Button Is Green on Instagram?
The following button on Instagram is usually gray when you are already following them, depending on your device and app version. However, it appears green for some of your friends. It’s natural to wonder what it means.
A green following button on Instagram essentially indicates that a particular individual has been added to your list of Close Friends. As discussed, this is a special list of people who will be able to see your Stories and other posts that you share only with your Close Friends.
When you add someone to your Close Friends list, the following button will turn green to indicate that the user has been added to your list. Only you can view who is a part of your Close Friends list, and only those users will be able to see if they are added to the list when they see your close friends stories.
When you share a Story or other post with your Close Friends, it will be marked with a green circle with a white star. This will let your Close Friends know that the post is only visible to them. The green following button is a useful way to share more personal content with your closest friends and family.
It’s also a great way to make sure that your important content doesn’t get lost in the shuffle of your regular feed. However, if in the future you remove someone from your Close Friends list, the following button will revert to blue or gray. Additionally, if you block someone, they will be automatically removed from your Close Friends list.
Now, let’s also learn how you can add someone to your close friends list in the following section.
How to add someone to your Close Friends list?
As we discussed earlier, making a Close Friends list and adding people to it is basically creating a private space to share your content with only the people who are on the list. To add someone to your Close Friends list on Instagram, you can follow the steps mentioned below.
Step 1: Open the Instagram app on your mobile device and log in to your account, if necessary.
Step 2: Next, go to your profile by tapping on the profile icon in the bottom right corner of the screen.
Step 3: Now, tap on the three horizontal lines in the top right corner to open the menu.
Step 4: From the menu, select Close Friends (you may need to scroll a little to find it).
You will be taken to your Close Friends list. If you have already added people to the list, you will see their names here.