How to View Someone’s Linkedin Profile Without Logging In

In this digital age, people’s social media profiles are considered reflections of their lives, thoughts, ideas, beliefs, passion, hobbies, and whatnot. This is why it should come as no surprise when someone you’ve just met in person tries to look you up on platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat.

how to view someone's linkedin profile without logging in

But how often do you check the LinkedIn profile of someone you’ve just met? While such a thing is quite rare, when it comes to job-hunting, hiring, collaboration, or outreach, LinkedIn profiles can come in quite handy as they’re rife with information about the user and can easily be accessed in most cases. However, can you say the same thing about doing such a thing from outside of the platform?

That’s the challenge we will attempt to resolve in our blog today. Stay with us till the end to know everything about checking others’ profiles and anonymity on LinkedIn.

How to View Someone’s Linkedin Profile Without Logging In

Now that we’ve already answered your question, would you mind if we digressed a bit to talk about another concern? About anonymity. Anonymity is a concept that has differing means for different social media platforms. Take Snapchat, for instance. This social media platform thrives because of its extraordinary privacy policies (and the beauty filters, obviously).

On the contrary, platforms like LinkedIn revolve around the idea of creating a professional global network that everyone can be a part of. And in order to make that happen, users need to expand their reach and find more exposure; maintaining privacy is no way of getting that done, which is exactly why the platform isn’t big on letting its users act anonymously.

One such problematic action on LinkedIn is checking out other people’s profile. Whenever someone checks your profile on LinkedIn, the platform notifies you about it. It is also because of this notification that most users log out of their accounts before checking out a LinkedIn profile.

However, what most users don’t know is the fact that checking out someone’s profile anonymously is possible on the platform itself. All you need to do is tweak your account’s settings a little, and you’re done. By “anonymously” here, we don’t mean that it will prevent that user from getting a notification; they will still be notified about their profile being viewed. Only they wouldn’t be able to tell who did it, as your name will be hidden.

Do you want to learn how this can be done on LinkedIn? Great! Take a look at this step-by-step guide we’ve curated below to make it happen for your account. We’ve taken the mobile app into consideration while creating the guide, but it can also work for LinkedIn’s web app (with some minor differences):

Step 1: Launch the LinkedIn app on your smartphone.

Step 2: From the Home tab that you find yourself on, navigate your profile picture’s thumbnail icon on the top-left corner of your screen. Tap on it when you find it.

Step 3: As soon as you do, a menu will slide in from the left side of your screen.

On top of this menu, you’ll find your name, a thumbnail of your profile picture, and right below it, these two options: View Profile and Settings. Tap on the second option here.

Step 4: You’ll find yourself on your Settings tab next. Here, a list of multiple actionable options would appear on your screen, such as Account preferences, Data privacy, and so on.

Navigate Visibility on this list (currently placed third here) and tap on it.

Step 5: On doing so, you’ll land on the Visibility tab of your account. This tab, you’ll notice, is divided into two different sections:

Visibility of your profile & Network 

Visibility of your LinkedIn activity 

The option that you’re looking for is on top in the first section: Profile viewing options.

Step 6: As soon as you tap on this option, you’ll land on the Profile viewing tab, where you’ll be asked to select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile.

You’ll be provided three options to pick from:

  • Your name and headline (showing your full identity, which is a default setting on LinkedIn)
  • Private profile characteristics (mentioning your profession, industry, and location)
  • Private mode (complete privacy)

Tap on the third option here, and when you see a quick Settings updated notification in green, know that your changes have been saved and the private mode has been activated for your profile.

Now, when you check someone’s profile on LinkedIn, the only notification they’ll receive about it would be: Someone viewed your profile.

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.