Humans have long engaged in verbal combat and physical clashes when someone irritates or angers them. The result often ends with people stopping interaction and maybe severing all relations with the person. With the internet age in full swing, we’ve also extended our fights to social media. You know what we’re talking about, right?
Can you say it’s a serious fight when you don’t block the person online, too? We’ve all been pretty accustomed to doing that now.
As a Facebook user, you block the person and move on. But we know that blocking has significant repercussions as well. In this blog, we’ll discuss one of the questions many Facebook users raised.
If I blocked someone on Facebook, do my friends still see their comments on my picture and status? What do you think happens? Aren’t you curious to know? Buckle up because we’ll go into great depth about it.
If I Blocked Someone on Facebook, Do My Friends Still See their Comments on My Picture and Status?
When you block someone on Facebook, all past comments they have made on your status updates or pictures are not immediately removed. We know blocking is meant to end communication, but they may have left comments on your posts or status updates before blocking.
So, please be aware that we are currently discussing all interactions before you block the person. Now, please allow us to explain.
When we block someone on Facebook, we essentially prevent them from seeing our online activities. Hence, you will not see their comments. However, this explanation does not extend to your friends. Why?
We believe they haven’t also blocked the individual! For this very reason, they will continue to view the blocked person’s comments on your pictures and status updates.
So, you understand, right? From your perspective, everything between you and the blocked individual will vanish. However, all of those actions, such as commenting, will be seen by your Facebook friends.
You may wonder about the posts you create after blocking someone. Well, blocking someone makes your profile invisible to them, preventing them from seeing your new posts and leaving any comments.
How to block someone on Facebook?
Do you know how to block someone on Facebook? We’ve been discussing the consequences of blocking, but surely it’s time we reviewed the process.
Let us warn you up front that if you block someone, they won’t be able to view your updates on your timeline, tag you in posts, or send you invitations to groups or events. Additionally, they won’t be able to message you or send you a friend request.
Thanks to Facebook, you can complete this entire step in less than two minutes. If you’re up for it, please follow the instructions below.
Steps to block someone on Facebook:
Step 1: Visit the target person’s profile on Facebook.
Step 2: Can you see the three horizontal dots next to the Message tab? Please give it a tap.
Step 3: Upon doing so, you’ll be directed to the Profile settings page.
Step 4: Select the block option from the menu list.
Step 5: A confirmation prompt will appear on the screen. Tap on Block again to confirm your action.