It is almost impossible not to check out different people’s profiles when you make an account on a platform. Especially if they’re platforms where content creation is at its peak. One such platform is TikTok, which has been growing in popularity at a rapid pace. It is estimated that TikTok will have 834.3 million active users worldwide by the end of 2023. The video-centric platform is a hub of all the viral content around the world. Users now make whatever type of content they want to make on the platform: be it dancing, life hacks, cooking tutorials, travel vlogs, etc.
TikTok offers a community for every niche. And the best part? You can grow with minimal input here. You can start with just your phone without a compulsive need for expensive equipment and stuff.
When you begin creating content on TikTok, you are likely to start getting noticed more and more. Your videos will appear in other users’ feeds, and they might want to see more of your content.
They might visit your profiles to see the rest of your content. While you’ll be notified that someone has viewed your profile, to what extent do we get to know the details of the same? Does TikTok inform us who specifically has viewed our profile? Does it tell us how many times they’ve viewed our profile?
In this blog, we are going to address all these questions. So, if this is something you want to know more about, keep reading. Let’s get started!
What happens when someone views our profile on TikTok?
As already established, TikTok informs us when someone views our profile. Whenever someone visits our profile, we get a notification from the platform about the same. However, there’s a catch to this as well. We will not get to know about everyone who has viewed our profile.
If this feels confusing, let’s understand it in more detail. Whenever someone views our profile on TikTok, we can check that in the viewed my profile section. This section will have notifications from all the people who have viewed your profile and done so in the last 30 days.
So, what’s the catch? All of these users must have their Profile view history feature enabled for us to get notified when they check our profiles. We must have this feature enabled on our accounts ourselves. (The next section will explore TikTok’s Profile view history feature.)
Simply put, this means that the only users we’ll get notified about in the viewed my profile section are the users who have:
- Their Profile view history feature enabled,
- Who have visited our profile,
- And who have done so in the last 30 days.
Remember, you must have your own Profile view history feature enabled in order to get notified of users visiting your profile.
So, what is TikTok’s Profile view history feature, and how can we enable it? Let’s learn about it in the following section.
What is the TikTok Profile view history feature?
The TikTok Profile view history enables users to get notified when someone visits their profile. If you have your Profile view history feature on TikTok enabled, you’ll get notifications about every user who has viewed your profile in the last 30 days and has this feature enabled.
This feature works both ways. Other users who have this feature enabled will also get notified when you visit their profiles and have this feature enabled on your account. Let’s learn how you can enable this feature on TikTok with a step-by-step guide.
There are two ways to enable this feature: through your Privacy settings and your Profile views page. Let’s learn them one by one.
Here’s how you can turn your Profile view history feature on or off through your Privacy settings:
Step 1: Sign in to your TikTok account. You’ll see the Profile option in the bottom right; tap on it.
Step 2: In the top right, you’ll see a Menu option indicated by three lines. Click on it to head to Settings.
Step 3: Select Settings and Privacy. Then, select Privacy.
Step 4: Click on Profile Views. You’ll see the Profile view history icon; toggle it on or off as per your requirements.
Here’s how you can turn your Profile view history feature on or off through your Profile views page:
Step 1: Sign in to your TikTok account and tap on Inbox at the bottom.
Step 2: You’ll see one or more notifications that someone has viewed your profile. Tap on it.
Step 3: You’ll be led to your Profile views page. Tap on the Settings icon that you’ll see in the top right.
Step 4: You’ll see the Profile view history icon; toggle it on or off.
These are the two easy ways you can turn your Profile view history feature on or off.
Note: To have access to this feature, you must be at least 16 years old and have fewer than 5,000 followers.
Can you see how many times someone viewed your TikTok profile?
With our discussion above, we understand that it is indeed possible to see if someone has viewed our profile on TikTok, given that:
- You are 16 years of age or older,
- You have less than 5,000 followers,
- You have your Profile view history feature turned on,
- The user visiting your profile has their Profile view history feature turned on.
But can we see how often someone has viewed our profile on TikTok? The answer to this question, unfortunately, is No.
TikTok will only let us know who has viewed our profile, given that all the conditions mentioned above are fulfilled; it will not let us know how many times they’ve done it.
The closest you can get to know more about your account stats is by switching your account to a TikTok Pro Account. It is basically an extended version of TikTok where users get access to more insights about their content, its reach, and performance on the platform.
With a TikTok Pro Account, you’ll get TikTok Pro Analytics. These analytics will help you measure the growth and reach for each of your videos and understand how well your posts are performing. You can get weekly and monthly insights into each of your posts on the platform.
And the best part is: it is completely free! A lot of TikTok content creators use TikTok Pro Analytics to grow their accounts even more. However, even with this feature, you’ll not get to know the number of times someone is viewing your profile.
To sum up
With everything we’ve learned so far, let’s try to summarize our discussion above. We began our discussion by understanding what happens when someone views our profile on TikTok. We learned about the Profile view history feature and how we can turn it on or off.
We figured out how and when we get notified about when users visit our profiles. We then learned if we can know how many times someone has viewed our profile on TikTok, the answer to which is No.
With this, we hope we were able to answer all your questions and doubts about people viewing your TikTok profiles. If you have any more queries you’d like us to address, make sure you let us know in the comments below. We’ll discuss them in our upcoming blogs.