TikTok is the latest hub of all the viral content on the internet. People use TikTok to create and consume content about almost everything: be it lifestyle, life hacks, tutorials, education, entertainment, and much more. Between 2019 and 2021, TikTok has essentially doubled its worldwide user base from 291.4 million to 655.9 million. We know, it’s crazy! The reason the platform has grown so tremendously over the last few years is that one doesn’t need expensive equipment or much input to grow on TikTok. You can just begin by using your phone and some basic editing skills.
If people end up liking your content, there’s no stopping you from growing on TikTok. The platform provides its users with a community for every niche. When users start creating regular content, they are likely to get noticed more and more. People will also start viewing their profiles to watch more of their content.
You might also wonder what happens when you block someone on TikTok and view their profile: will they be notified of the same? We have got you covered on this too. Let’s learn all about it in detail in the following sections. Let’s begin!
If You Block Someone on TikTok Can They See You Viewed Their Profile?
First of all, as we have discussed above, users will only get to know you have viewed their profile in the following case: you and them both have the Profile view history feature enabled, and you have visited their profile in the last 30 days.
Now, sometimes we accidentally visit someone’s profile or simply do not want them to know we have viewed their account. In that case, you might think the quickest solution to them not being able to know about it is by blocking their account.
It is natural to wonder whether they will still be notified about you viewing their profile if you have blocked them. Well, you can absolutely relax because the answer to that is No. If you view someone’s account on TikTok and instantly block them after, the user wouldn’t get any notification about it.
However, one way the user might still get to know about you viewing their profile is if you take too long to block them after you have viewed their account. They could have already seen the notification in the Profile views section. Other than that, the other person won’t get any notification about you viewing their profile if you have blocked them immediately.
Let’s understand everything that happens when you block someone on TikTok in the next section.
What happens when you block someone on TikTok?
Earlier, we talked about how great a platform TikTok is in the way that it lets you connect with diverse people and interact with one another. However, the way that saying goes – every coin has two sides – holds true here as well.
While TikTok does connect you to incredible people, sometimes you come in contact with people you would rather not be connected with. In such a case, you would probably unfollow, or in serious cases block that account.
If you wonder what exactly happens when you block someone on TikTok, well, here’s what. The user you have blocked will no longer be able to see your profile in any way, even if it’s public. They won’t be able to message you or view any of your posts any longer. They will also not be able to tag you in any of their posts or comment on any of yours.
When you block someone on TikTok, you essentially become invisible to them on the platform, leaving no way for them to contact you until you unblock them again. And as mentioned above, their notifications of you viewing their profile will be deleted after you have blocked them.
Lastly, let’s explore the Profile view history feature on TikTok because this is the feature that enables users to get notifications when someone visits their profiles.
What is the “Profile view history” feature on TikTok?
The TikTok Profile view history feature enables users to get notified when someone visits their profile. If you have your Profile view history feature on TikTok enabled, you’ll get notifications about every user who has viewed your profile in the last 30 days and has this feature enabled.
This feature works both ways. Other users who have this feature enabled will also get notified when you visit their profiles and have this feature enabled on your account. If you want to learn how you can enable this feature on TikTok, here’s a step-by-step guide for the same.
You can enable this feature using two ways: through your Privacy settings and your Profile views page.
Let’s learn them one by one.
Here’s how you can turn your Profile view history feature on or off through your Privacy settings:
Step 1: Sign in to your account on TikTok. You’ll see the Profile option in the bottom right; tap on it.
Step 2: In the top right, you’ll see a Menu option indicated by three lines. Click on it to head to Settings.
Step 3: Select Settings and Privacy. Then, select Privacy.
Step 4: Click on Profile views. You’ll see the Profile view history icon; toggle it on or off as per your requirements.
Here’s how you can turn your Profile view history feature on or off through your Profile views page:
Step 1: Sign in to your TikTok account. There will be an Inbox icon at the bottom; tap on it.
Step 2: You’ll see one or more notifications that someone has viewed your profile. Tap on it.
Step 3: You’ll be led to your Profile views page. Tap on the Settings icon that you’ll see in the top right.
Step 4: You’ll see the Profile view history icon; toggle it on or off.