How to Apply for EWS Certificate in 2020 – 10% General Reservation Certificate

How to Apply for EWS Certificate in 2020: Recently, the Central Government of India has officially announced a 10% reservation quota for the EWS (Economically Weaker Sections) to the General Category students who are in government jobs and educational institutes.

In short, EWS certificate holders now get 10% reservation on any Government job (such as IAS, IPS, etc) and Admission in the educational institute (such as IITs, IIMs, etc).

Apply for EWS Certificate

However, there are so many people don’t know about whether they are eligible to get EWS certificate and how to obtain the same in India.

In this in-depth guide, you’ll learn

  • EWS Certificate Eligibility
  • Age Limit of the candidate
  • Documents Required for EWS Certificate
  • Income & Asset Certificate Issuing Authority
  • How to Apply for EWS Certificate Online & Offline

So if you are looking for how to apply for EWS certificate online and offline in India then you’ll love this guide.

Sounds Good? Let’s dive right in…

EWS Certificate Eligibility

A candidate who wants to obtain the EWS certificate, have to fulfill the eligibility criteria in order to apply for the EWS (Economically Weaker Section) certificate.

Whether you consider yourself as economically weak or not, actually that doesn’t matter. It is based on the annual income and the assets of your family.

So, you must need to satisfy all the listed eligibility criteria, to be classified under EWS.

apply for ews certificate

#1 Applicant should belong to General Category

The 10% EWS reservation is only given to the candidates of General Category. As other categories in india already have reservation benefits such as SC (15%), ST (7.5%) and OBC (27%).

#2 Annual family income should be less than Rs. 8 lakhs

To be classified under EWS, your annual family income should be below Rs. 8 lakhs that include income from all sources such as profession, business, salary, agriculture, etc.

#3 Agricultural land should be less than 5 acres

If the agricultural land owned by your family is less than 5 acre then you may be classified under the Economically Weaker Sections.

#4 The residential flat should be less than 1000 square feet

Residential plot owned by your family is less than 900 square feet in notified municipalities and 1800 square feet in non-notified municipalities.

Age Limit of the candidate

There is no minimum or maximum age limit specified by the indian government, so any age person can obtain the EWS certificate who fulfill the eligibility criteria.

Documents Required for EWS Certificate

When you apply for Economically Weaker Sections certificate online or offline you must have to submit an enclosure document for verification.

You can use any one of the following document:

  • Aadhar Card
  • PAN Card
  • Indian Passport
  • Driving Licence
  • Bank Passbook (With your photograph & bank stamp)
  • Smart Card (Issued by labor ministry)
  • Pension Document (Attached photograph)
  • Government Identity Proof (Must be issued by MP or MLA)

In India almost every person has an aadhar card, so you can upload a valid copy of the aadhar card but make sure it must be registered with your mobile number.

Income & Asset Certificate Issuing Authority

The income and asset certificate verify that you belong to the EWS. So you need to get the income and asset certificate from the government authorities.

Below you can find the authorities who can issue income and asset certificate.

  • District Magistrate / Collector/ Deputy Commissioner / Sub-Divisional Magistrate / Taluka Magistrate / Extra Assistant Commissioner
  • Chief Presidency Magistrate
  • Revenue Officer
  • Sub-Divisional Officer

How to Apply for EWS Certificate Online & Offline

For Andhra Pradesh & Bihar (Online)

If you are from Andhra Pradesh (AP) or Bihar then you can easily apply Economically Weaker Section Certificate online from below websites:

For Andhra Pradesh:

For Bihar:

Other States (Offline)

But if you are not from the Andhra Pradesh or Bihar then you need to visit the nearest Local Government Authority (Tehsil) to complete the process.

You can get the EWS Certificate Application Form Here

At Tehsildar office or block development office you need to submit the EWS registration form, supporting document, passport size photo.

They will verify your details and if everything is correct then you will receive within 40-45 days.

(Highly Recommended) You may also contact the agent of the Common Service Center (CSC) if you want your certificate as soon as possible. (Simply Google the “CSC near me” to find easily).

At CSC center, the agent will do everything for you, you only need to provide the supporting documents and fees they ask for.

Within a month you will receive the EWS if you applied through an agent.

Final Words:

I hope guys now you can easily apply for the EWS certificate after reading this article. If you have any question then feel free to comment below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *